Creamy Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
We really enjoyed this. I used fresh portabello mushrooms because I find re-hydrated porcinis slimey and unpleasant. I used chicken bouillon powder, and it was a tad salty. When I make this again, I'll use canned broth as it isn't so salty. My only complaint with this recipe is that it needs constant supervision as you have to stir it non-stop. Oh, and it doesn't look too pretty either! Anyway, great recipe. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This came out quite good with a few alterations: I used twice as many mushrooms as called for (white button instead), a low-fat cream of mushroom soup, and cooked over LOW heat instead of medium (you don't want to rush risotto!). Also, grated swiss makes a great complement if you want some extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
So yummy. This was a BIG hit with the family. Made it exactly like it said and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
We really enjoyed this dish. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I made this for my boyfriend, brother, and brother's new girlfriend and everyone really loved it. My brother said it was the best risotto he'd ever had! I was having a poor day though, so used (lots and lots of)cheddar instead of parmesan, and the big wide mushrooms. Had with a crispy salad with vinaigrette, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This is probably more a 3.5 because it did taste good. However the fact that it's not the prettiest dish and the consistency was as my daughter put it kind of gloopy makes me doubt that I would make it again. This may well be something that I did though. I did use vegetable stock instead of chicken to make it vegetarian and we did all eat it and just because it didn't entirely work for me doesn't mean it won't for somebody else. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This risotto was wonderful! It was so easy and so good! Unfortunately my husband hated it....not because of the taste, he hated the texture. Definitely five stars though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My husband and I loved it. This was my first try at making risotto, and it turned out to be easier than I thought, though time consuming. The results were worth it! I used fresh baby portabello mushrooms instead of the porcini, and low fat mushroom soup. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I made this with vegetable broth and a good helping of fresh mushrooms (button and portabello), and it turned out nicely. I also stirred in some grated parmesan before serving. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States