Creamy Mushroom Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
My boyfriend and I tried this recipe one night and were surprised. He's not big on making sauces, but I insisted on trying it anyway. We used everything but the cornstarch and added instead at the end more Parmesan to thicken the sauce and turned the heat up high. This thickened it instantly. We also added spinach to the mushrooms for another healthy vegetable. We LOVED it! My boyfriend said it was better than the expensive Italian food we go out to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Very good. Added some cooked, cut-up chicken when liquid was cooking, mixed cornstarch with water first before adding. Instead of just using Italian seasoning I also added oregano, black pepper, parsley, and onion powder. Used penne instead of fettucine. Will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This turned out well with a bit of tweaking. Four mushrooms for six servings?? And like a previous reviewer notes, you've got to mix cornstarch with water or you'll end up with a grainy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trask02
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I followed a lot of the reviewers' recommendations, and it tasted great - like at an Italian restaurant. The tweaks to the original recipe: I used a whole package of mushrooms, white zinfadel (gives a sweeter taste), probably 1 tsp. of oregano, parsley, and onion powder. To thicken it, I used the cornstarch (mixed with cold water) and parmesan cheese, along with increasing the heat a little. I also added chunks of cooked chicken and served it over whole wheat angel hair. I forgot to add the salt, but that way, each family member can add it to taste. We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Only 4 mushrooms??? Using an entire package of fresh mushrooms is a must! I also add cooked chicken after I saute the mushrooms to make a complete meal. Adding the cooked pasta to the skillet mixture allows it to absorb all of the good flavors of the sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Sautee'd 3 X mushrooms with fresh garlic and minced shallot, added the wine with veggie broth (I'm vegetarian) and two buck Chuck. Added some dried sage for a gravy type taste and it was a big hit over farfalle pasta. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SH0NI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I thought this was very good. I added an entire 8 oz. carton of mushrooms and actually thought you could even add more. Instead of the dried Italian seasoning I used a cup of fresh thyme. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This recipe was a chance to use my home made chicken stock. I increased the serving size and stuck with the original directions, just adding some shredded chicken meat. What a wonderful, wonderful dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cierra
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
The sauce didn't thicken like it should have so I ended up adding in more cornstarch than the recipe asked for. Also this recipe didn't make enough sauce, and I added a whole package of mushrooms in. I added more chicken stock and white wine to this recipe and it turned out pretty good. I just think the sauce should definitely be doubled for how much pasta there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cierra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
the taste was bland, I added many more mushrooms and there was still just barely enough. The cornstarch works best if you mix it with a bit of water in a cup and THEN add it to the skillet. Otherwise, it just forms into lumps. In my opinion, the recipe as it stands requires too many adjustments to make it worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States