Creamy Mushroom Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made some modifications to this recipe. First, I added a chopped shallot, used vegetable broth and red wine instead of white. I also used more mushrooms like other reviewers and switched to crimini for a more earthy flavor. It was very good with the mushroom ravioli that we had with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA
Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The sauce is very nice, although I did mix the cornstarch with a little 1/2 and 1/2 so that it didn't clump. I used a pound of mushrooms, not 4. Because I was in the mood to, I added onions and spinach, but it would still be nice as written - adding more mushrooms of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I added a LOT more butter (probably 1/4 cup) because I also added a large chopped onion, 4X the garlic and a full package of mushrooms. I also put in some cubed chicken breast and added chopped tomatoes at the end. My spices were: a tsp of thyme, 1/2 tsp oregano and 1/2 tsp parsley. I only used about a tsp of cornstarch and had a cup total of wine and chicken stock when combined, only. We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Bogaart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Sautee'd 3 X mushrooms with fresh garlic and minced shallot, added the wine with veggie broth (I'm vegetarian) and two buck Chuck. Added some dried sage for a gravy type taste and it was a big hit over farfalle pasta. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SH0NI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
After seeing some dehydrated gourmet mushrooms in Costo, I had an idea. After rehydrating the mushrooms in water, I boiled the pasta in the rehydrated mushroom water. After I boiled the pasta, I reduced the mushroom pasta water to 1 cup and used that water instead of the chicken stock. The flavor of the mushroom and the starch from the pasta made the sauce incredibly flavorful. Threw some red pepper flakes in for heat and a tablespoon of cream cheese and voila - incredible mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My brother-in-law made a similar dish for me 12 years ago and I've been searching for a good recipe ever since. This turned out great!!! The sauce didn't thicken up like I expected but after mixing it with the pasta it worked out just fine. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was pretty good but I didn't like all the italian seasoning. I was thinking it seemed like a lot when I was putting it in and I should have listened to my senses. I'll maybe make it again, with about half as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was a really good pasta dish and not hard to make at all. I did not have any chicken stock on and so I substituede chicken broth and it was delicious. However I may cut the salt next time. My husband and nearly two year old son both loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was great! I agree with other reviewers. I used a lot more than four mushrooms. I put it on cheese tortelini. It was a hit with my husband, and all three of my picky kids even ate a little. We'll fix it again soon, and they'll take to it pretty quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
this was a great pasta. My husband and friends really enjoyed this sauce. I only added 1/4 cup wine and a whole package of mushrooms. I also added sage, basil, parsley and tarragon. It was very yummy. I will be making this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States