Creamy Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I did NOT do the Beef Veal and Pork meatloaf he suggested. I instead used his classic meatloaf recipe. Hover instead of 2.5 pounds of chuck, I did a mix of chuck and pork. Came out amazing!!! All the family wanted the recipe. I also did not spoon on the gravy until half way through the cooking process. Made a bit more of a crust on the outside. I would actually have let it stay in longer next time before spooning over the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Yum! Made this last night using my own meatloaf recipe with ground lean beef (90%-10%) was delicious! Served with mashed potatoes and peas. Will definitely make this again! Used regular (button?) mushrooms since that's what I had on hand. Gravy was a little thin but so tasty it didn't matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was easy to make & absolutely delish! I threw in a partial pkg of mini bella's also,just to use them up. Fabulous!! This'll be a repeat. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Oh my word! This was amazing! I made it with my personal meatloaf recipe and my family raved! I love you Chef John! You are making me a rockstar with my family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This mushroom gravy was perfect! The comments I heard after I served it never stopped about how great this meatloaf tasted! Goodbye ketchup...see ya later bbq sauce! This recipe is the ticket to great meatloaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This stuff is just silly good, I could drink it as is! Made exactly as written with lots of black pepper added. Instead of meatloaf I just added a 2 lb bag of prepared frozen turkey meatballs and baked at 250* for a couple of hours until we were ready to eat. A great easy "semi-homemade" weeknight meal over buttered/parsley kluski noodles. Thanks for sharing, John, a winner and def do-over for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by aleban
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I think I messed up so much and yet it came out delish. First, didnt have shiitake mushrooms so used regular packaged mushrooms. Didnt have rosemary so used parsley. and didnt have regular heavy cream so used heavy whipped cream. lol. You would think wow how bad it must of came out but was delish. Next time will do as instructed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Amazing flavor! Hubby raved about it. I loved it so much, I printed out the recipe and brought it to work. Two of my coworkers made it and it was the talk of the office! I used 2 lbs ground beef to 1 lb ground pork, breadcrumbs, milk, egg, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder...DELISH! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. Just be aware that a 2.5 lb meatloaf is a big, honkin' meatloaf! Serves eight? Eight who? Eight linebackers? For regular folks, I would say it serves more like 10-12. But it is delicious and does make for a very moist meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Made this for the 1st time tonite, using our favorite straight Beef meatloaf recipe. Followed sauce recipe exactly. When I was forming the loaf, I thought: "This thing is Huge! We'll be stuck eating this for a month"!......Not So! With only 2 men in the house, it Disappeared Immediately! Rave Reviews. Very Moist & Elegant Presentation....Would Definately make this for company. Served it with baked potatoes and steamed broccoli. This recipe has earned a place in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States