Creamy Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My family and I just LOVE this repie, I make a basic meatloaf with it (ground beef, breadcrumbs, egg, bouillon powder, ketchup and warm water), and I cook the above recipe as stated, no changes as it doesn't need it, it's fabulous as it is, the sauce it produces is soooo good, and I serve it with mashed potatoes, green beans/peas. Great comfort meal on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
2 thumbs up from my family! I only used 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tbsp of butter to saute the mushrooms and I omitted the salt as I used beef Better then Bullion for the broth, I only had 5% cream but it still worked great, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this recipe twice now; it was amazing. However, I simply poured the mushroom sauce over the meatloaf and left some sauce on the side for the mashed potatoes. I also added a touch of dry white wine to the sauce. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine
Home Town: Callander, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GPhiBQT
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I did it exactly as described. Will do it again! The only problem was that my husband devoured it before I got a good picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GPhiBQT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
this is so good The shiitake mushrooms give the gravy so much flavor . Served it to guests all in agreement 5 star recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I've made this 2 times already - 3rd time will be this weekend. I use a very basic meatloaf recipe, and only use about 1lb of meat (just making it for 2 and I don't want TOO much left over). The creamy mushroom sauce is incredible. It keeps the meatloaf moist (even when using turkey!) and is delicious served over the meatloaf and mashed potatoes. I love it so much, I've pretty much stopped making meatloaf without this sauce. Oh, and I use regular mushrooms because shiitake are too expensive for my budget. Still great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was easy to make & absolutely delish! I threw in a partial pkg of mini bella's also,just to use them up. Fabulous!! This'll be a repeat. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This stuff is just silly good, I could drink it as is! Made exactly as written with lots of black pepper added. Instead of meatloaf I just added a 2 lb bag of prepared frozen turkey meatballs and baked at 250* for a couple of hours until we were ready to eat. A great easy "semi-homemade" weeknight meal over buttered/parsley kluski noodles. Thanks for sharing, John, a winner and def do-over for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Made this for the 1st time tonite, using our favorite straight Beef meatloaf recipe. Followed sauce recipe exactly. When I was forming the loaf, I thought: "This thing is Huge! We'll be stuck eating this for a month"!......Not So! With only 2 men in the house, it Disappeared Immediately! Rave Reviews. Very Moist & Elegant Presentation....Would Definately make this for company. Served it with baked potatoes and steamed broccoli. This recipe has earned a place in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Yum! Made this last night using my own meatloaf recipe with ground lean beef (90%-10%) was delicious! Served with mashed potatoes and peas. Will definitely make this again! Used regular (button?) mushrooms since that's what I had on hand. Gravy was a little thin but so tasty it didn't matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States