Creamy Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This sauce turned my meatloaf into a "gourmet" meatloaf. We even had to drink some wine with the loaf. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
WOW! I LOVE this recipe! I have made it a few times already. Last time I made it without mushrooms, mainly because I forgot them at the grocery store and didn't want to go back. It still came out perfect! I also used ground turkey and chicken broth. As we don't eat red meat or pork. The only other thing I changed was I used half and half, just because that was all we had in stock. It still came out wonderful! Paired it with garlic mashed potatoes and sweet peas! LOOOVE Chef John's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LezModel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delicious! Made this shiitake gravy with Chef John's classic meatloaf (replaced the sauce in the classic recipe with this gravy). Meatloaf is my nemesis and I am so happy to say, I won this round! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Fantastic! We prefer more gravy so I tripled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The family really loved this version of meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent! Turned my average venison meatloaf into something special. Didn't adjust the recipe at all and it turned out perfect: rich, creamy, mushroomy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was the best meatloaf I have ever made! I used the Mushroom Meatloaf recipe also from this site and then used this recipe to cook it! Bravo and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is the most delicious meatloaf I've ever had! The gravy is to die for! I added to the meat mixture 2 eggs, a sleeve of crushed town house crackers, 1 very thinly sliced shallot, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Shaped it into a loaf and followed Chef John's recipe! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tilegirl220

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used this method with the three meat meatloaf and wow. I used white shrooms, not tasty shitake, so I added about a half tablespoon of smoked peppercorns and the sauce which then had a pleasing, subtle smokey edge. Then I used bbq, ketchup, siracha sauce combo for the top. Also I used 1 t of thyme instead of basil (I was out). Kudos Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean-Louise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I would have given this recipe about 3 stars for flavor, & that's considering this is really a recipe for MEATLOAF GRAVY rather than for meatloaf, so my rating is based on the METHOD/GRAVY ALONE. I made this recipe exactly as written & IMHO the gravy was good, but NOT great. It reminds me of a gravy I might have tasted in a TV dinner or at Denny's (edible, I wouldn't have sent it back, but I wouldn't have bothered to clean my plate or save any leftovers nor would I never order this again). The fact that it uses shitake mushrooms seems like it would add to the flavor, but it only seems to add to the cost of the dish. Sorry, Chef John, but I've tried a few gravy recipes that called for cans of cream of mushroom soup that cost MUCH less than this one & were easier to prepare & tasted just as good or better. I started off rating this recipe 3 stars for flavor, but knocked off stars because (1) it takes extra time/expense to make than a canned-mushroom-soup-gravy & IMHO this recipe isn't any better (2) cooking the meatloaf IN the gravy makes for a VERYVERYGREASY gravy & just skimming the grease wasn't enough for, I had to get out the gravy strainer & this is an extra step that I didn't care for - why not just make the gravy separately? 3) Personal preference - we like to have a crisp outer layer on our meatloaf & using this recipe/method the whole loaf comes out very moist...like tv-dinner-meatloaf-all-around-moist-throughout..which isn't what we like/expect/want in a meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States