Creamy Mushroom Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I have never been a big macaroni lover- I always felt like it was missing something... lets just say I have found the very best tasting macaroni that I have ever tried. I basically halfed the recipe... I drained the cooked noodles, returned to the saucepan, added the processed cheese cubes until melted, then I used half a can of the new roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup,a nd cooked it through. I had previously shredded a half moon of extra sharp cheddar cheese. I added half of that to the saucepan and cooked until melted. I then put it all in a baking dish added a little milk and put the rest of the extra sharp cheese on top and sprinkled some Italian bread crumbs on top and baked it until all the cheese was melted and bubbling. Trust me this macaroni has the extra kick of flavor that we've all been looking for in this favorite comfort food dish. Try it! It's so full of flavor that you'll never get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
yum yum yum! quick and easy. what a great substitute for white sauce! i've been making this for years! i started making this in my university years, eventually all my roomates had me making this for them. i had to review this b/c it's 1. easy 2. cheap 3. simple 4. good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This is an excellent recipe -- very tasty and easy. We tried it before putting in the oven and then after baking in the oven -- I will not bake it next time. It was very creamy before baking and clumpy afterwards. I'll be making this again without baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Quick and easy and very creamy! I didn't have "processed cheese" so I threw whatever shredded cheese I had left (probably about 2 cups) plus a little extra milk (half a cup instead of 1/3 c.) to make up for the moisture lost from the processed cheese. I also threw in some pre cooked chicken chunks to make it a dinner dish. The boys (all four) loved it. Will definitely make again! :) Oh, and I didn't end up using all 16 oz of cooked pasta though. I was adding it a little at a time and kept about 1 1/2 c. of cooked pasta out just because I like it extra saucy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Norwalk, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The absolute best macaroni ever. This was my first time making macaroni besides out of a box. My family loved the recipe and was very delighted to have second servings. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Wonderful recipe, the mushrooms add a great flavor. I used regular sharp cheddar instead of cheese cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
You will definitely get your fill of processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very good! I added garlic and some diced red peppers I needed to get rid of. My only beef is that the cheese needed to be a little more creamy and a little less thick. But it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nimrod, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I used Cream of Chicken soup instead of Cream of Mushroom. This was great!!! My dad said that this was even good cold!!! LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
kinda bland tasting..and still has that processed canned soup taste...i tried adding some more garlic/salt/pepper/crushed red paper/cayenne to help the flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States