Creamy Mocha Frozen Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
rich but very good I also double the cookie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaustin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
My teenage son loves this dessert so much that he requests it for his birthday "cake." I double the crust and substitute a Starbucks triple shot expresso for the instant coffee and hot water. It's considerably more than 2 Tbsp. but the consistency is still perfect and it shouts mocha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was really good!I did use 2 oreo crusts instead of making my own. I also used 1/4 Cup coffee liquer in place of the coffee. I then put chopped pecans in the bottom of the crust and poured the filling over and added the whipped topping on top instead of into the filling.TRY WHIPPING IN A CHILLED BOWL: 2 Cups heavy whipping cream with 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 Cup pwd. sugar, this is enough for the 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was awesome. Everyone loved it...even the kids. I also did double the cookie crumbs. Will definitely make again...soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Decadent! Absolutely decadent; this dessert is so smooth it's like silk in your mouth. I served it to guests and everyone loved it. Some unabashedly asked for seconds! I ditto what all the other reviewers said about doubling the cookie crumbs. Also, because it wasn't as obvious to me as maybe others, I wasn't sure how to serve it. Do I let it thaw for a little while first or what? I found that while it was a little hard to cut into squares after just taking it from the freezer, it was probably the right thing to do because it was great served immediately after cutting. Not like some frozen desserts that are so hard you can barely bite into them. Anyway, I highly recommend this dessert, especially for entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was very good. I used instant espresso, which made the coffee flavor stand out more. I topped with the chopped pecans, and then drizzled chocolate syrup on top for a very elegant look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
this is soooo good! I'm giving it a 4 instead of 5 because you need at least double the cookie crumbs. I used a 10" tart pan and didnt even have enough. I added a tsp vanilla extract and also doubled the coffee. I used fat free cool whip, fat free swt cond. milk, and light cr. cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Excellent! I did have a little trouble getting this dessert out of the dish - -next time I will spray the dish with Pam. I did double the crust ingredients as suggested. I used espresso powder instead of instant coffee for more coffee flavor. I used light cream cheese and light cool whip and this was still good,good, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
The flavor of this was great. I read the reviews about doubling the crust and was glad I did. The only problem I had is that the cream cheese didn't mix that well with everything else, it was pretty clumpy. I used a nice mixer and ran the cream cheese for a while by itself, but it didn't get fluffy, so maybe it's the kind I used. Next time I might use whipped cream cheese to avoid that problem, it would be better if the final texture was lighter. Overall very good and easy though, I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Excellent recipe. Thank you for sharing. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States