Creamy Mashed Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These were great! A nice change from the ordinary. The only changes I made were cooking my potato cubes in water with chicken base (similar to boullion but in a loose powder). I did not even add any butter and they didn't need it. I taste-tested at the end to check for any salt addition, as I had the boullion and ranch mix with salt already in there; they only needed a sprinkle. They were so whippy light and thank goodness my electric mixer didn't give out until the very end!UPDATE:1/22/06...Since I love the flavor of these I wanted to make again and didn't have sour cream...no problem! I just omitted it, again did not add any butter and just used the cream cheese and broth liquid from cooking potatoes in. I grated some fresh romano cheese on top and into the oven...mmmmm, sooo good! Texture and everything was still superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This has been a family favorite for years! Thicker, richer and more flavorful than tradional mashed potatoes,there is no need to measure the ingredients exactly--just add to suit your taste and desired consistency. However, I always use the entire package of the ranch dressing and don't bother with the last step of baking, and it is always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I wanted to cut back on the carbs a bit and add some veggies, so I did half potatoes and half cauliflower. After I mashed them, I added homemade dry ranch seasoning and 1/4 c. of grated parmesan cheese. This was a hit with everyone, and noone could tell there was cauliflower in it. This dish went really well with my father in law's roast. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I added more of the sour cream and ranch than called for. It was great. I might try just adding premade ranch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Creamy, flavorful mashed potatoes. I made ahead the day before and added chicken broth because I knew baking would reduce the moisture. I added cheese the last 10 minutes of baking. Comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Simple and super easy - sprinkle with bacon and cheddar cheese. Served with barbecue pork ribs, garden salad and quick rolls! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
MMMMMMM...So good! These are definately a comfort food. I halved the recipe but used double the ranch 1/2 C, and it was just right. I also skipped the baking and they were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was really good. The only thing off for me was how thick it was. I used 8 oz cream cheese, 8 oz sour cream and about 4 - 8 oz ranch sauce along with 1/3 cup butter AND about 1/4 - 1/2 cup half/half. And I topped it with about a cup of mozzeralla cheese before I baked it. Only after ALL those additions was it a good texture for me. My husband LOVED it and so did I with the changes. Next time, in addition to the ranch dressng I will use a packet of the ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
They were the hit at Thansgiving. I did make a couple of changes, I used Red potatoes, I added 2 crushed chicken bouillon cubes and a clove of sauted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I made this recipe as written, and it was great. No need to mess with these ingredients unless you want to. Very easy. Everyone in my family loved it, including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States