Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
i have made this multiple times for different events from BBQs to office parties and always a hit. But I make as directed then place in a large baking dish (350F) and sprinkle bread crumbs on top with a little parmasean cheese for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
While I like the recipe, I still wanted it to be more flavorful and creamy. Instead, I suspect from parmesan cheese, it was still grainy in texture. It needs some more salt, has a slightly sweet taste (evaporated milk, or dijon mustard?) , and maybeq more pepper. One pan cooking was good. Though, I did pour it into an aluminum pan at 350 for 15-20 min to let it set and keep warm while I fried chicken. This made it more solid than a creamy noodles dish. Thus, the creaminess mentioned above may be my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Too salty and I like salt. I would add more pasta to offset it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONTANAMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I am glad I read it wrong and only added 1 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard. I added two eggs and only used one can of evaporated milk. I my husband and I thought it was really good this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Way too much sauce and not enough kinds of cheese. After tasting the outcome, I added a can of tomato soup, placed in baking dish, sprinkled Italian bread crumbs on top, and baked for 25 minutes at 425 degrees. Better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I was looking for a homemade mac-n-cheese recipe like my grandma used to make. I found this recipe to have the consistency of school paste. I followed the directions but between the sharp cheddar, strong Parmesan and the mustard, it was SO sour! I have no problems cooking a rue so I know that wasn't the problem with the consistency but for some reason it was too thick and way way too sour. Neither my 3 teens nor my husband and I could even eat it. Disappointed it was such a waste of good ingredients (and money).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I scaled this down to 4 servings but used about 9oz of whole wheat macaroni shells. Even still, there was way too much sauce! I skipped the step of dumping the noodles on a cookie sheet and I only added a bit of dijon mustard. I found that the sauce was a little too rich for our liking. Next time, I will try this recipe with skim milk in place of the evaporated milk and either scale the recipe down to 3 or add even more macaroni noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Very Good!! I substituted cream for the evaporated milk and instead of the dijon mustard I used 1/2 tsp.ground mustard. It was creamy and very flavorful. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My husband and I loved this! I had a couple of changes. I left out the mustard. I used whole milk instead of evaporated milk. I did half sharp cheddar and half velveeta. The sauce was tangy and smooth and delicious! There is almost too much sauce for the amount of pasta, so next time I will add more pasta. I am giving this 4 stars because neither of my kids (ages 2 and 5) would eat it. My 5 year old said she didn't like the flavor because it was too tangy. I am making this again tonight, but I will leave out the Parmesan and do a combination of medium cheddar, velveeta and italian blend cheese. Hopefully the kids will like this combo better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is awesome! The only adjustment I made to the recipe is adding a little vegetable or olive oil to the boiling water before you add your noodles, to keep them from sticking. Then when you strain them you can just leave them in the strainer til you need them again, and save on dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States