Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I love this! I halved the recipe and simplified it by only using regular milk instead of evaporated and omitting the mustard, parmesan and pepper. I use whatever cheese I have on hand and omit the salt if I'm using chicken broth with sodium in it. I added some garlic powder to the milk mixture before adding the cheese and it was delish! This is my go-to mac 'n cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is delicious if eaten immediately. It did not reheat well. It got clumpy and lost the smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This recipe is really easy to make and delicious! You get a real workout stirring. I would cut it by half because it really makes a lot. My 2 year old daughter ate a huge bowl of it. Ta ta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is my first ever recipe rating but I had to weigh in on this dish. This was the best homemade mac and cheese that I've ever made. My picky family devoured it. The next day I used the leftovers to make fried mac & cheese balls - scoop and roll into balls and place on a sheet pan, freeze for about 2 hours. Dip into egg wash then italian breadcrumbs. Let sit for a few minutes and repeat this step. Thaw on a sheet for about 90 minutes then fry at 350 for 2 - 3 minutes. Time consuming but easy and as close to fried food heaven as I can imagine. Thanks again for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Okay, so my dad and I tried this out and we went straight head-over-heels for this dish. We loved it so much, we went to the "lab" to find different ways to do this dish. For the cheeses, we combine half a triangle of asiago and two full blocks of sharp cheddar and sharp provolone. Instead of using actual mustard, we use 2 tsp of mustard powder, 2 tsp of wasabi powder (Penzey's Spices!!) and 2 tsp of white pepper (also at Penzey's!!) When throwing in the cheese, do it all at once and take an immersion blender to it (if you got one, not very expensive). Aside from these alterations, we followed the recipe to the teeth, and the LORD SAID IT WAS GOOD. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Mac and Cheese is my favorite food ever, but this was just plain nasty. It was very gritty, and I even followed the other users ideas. I don't know what I could even do to this to make it better. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Soooo delicious!!! The best thing about this recipe is the fact that it doesn't get too dry. When I'm making homemade Mac and chees I'm going to a party so it will inevitably sit for a bit. This recipe is so moist that it doesn't dry out. I changed a few things. I followed Carsonmacmommy's advice and whisked away to prevent graininess. I used 1 can of evaporated milk but substituted sourcream and heavy cream for the rest of the milk. After it was ready I put it in a 13x9 casserole and sprinkled ritz crackers on top. Broil for just a few mins. Yummy"!!!! You could use any cheese in this recipe. Next time I'm trying pepper jack for a spicy Mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Modified based on other reviews (thanks!). I wanted to make a mac n cheese that would definitely be kid and picky-eater friendly. I whisked half a stick of butter and ww flour first. Then whisked 1 cup warm broth in, then only 1 can of evaporated milk (also warmed) until bubbly. Then stir in 1/2 cup parmesan, 1 can cheddar cheese soup, and about 1 lb fresh shredded cheddar stir until blended. Add 1/2 & 1/2 to adjust thickness, if needed, and S&P to taste. Excellent! I have made 2x and wouldnt change a thing. Big time cheese lover here and LOVE IT! Also, the second time more comfy with recipe and in a hurry - couldn't believe how quickly I pulled it together. I always thought mac n cheese homemade took a long time to make, (thinking of baked mac) but it really doesn't on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I really loved this mac and cheese. I did not have dijon mustard and used a tiny bit of yellow mustard in it's place. Also, did not have Parmesan cheese, but next time will definitely make sure I try it will all ingredients. I added some buttered bread crumbs bc that is one of my favorites with mac n cheese. Thanks for a easy quick recipe that tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandahills1
Home Town: Alexandria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
i have made this multiple times for different events from BBQs to office parties and always a hit. But I make as directed then place in a large baking dish (350F) and sprinkle bread crumbs on top with a little parmasean cheese for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States