Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made this for my kids and myself as my husband hates Mac and Cheese, plus I had pretty much everything on hand. I more or less halved the recipe. I used the rest of the box of Macaroni, 2 tbs of butter (only because that was what was left in the stick), and a block of extra sharp cheddar which I shredded. It did make a TON of sauce, I needed about a cup more noodles. My son who's three said he loved it better than the box, my daughter said that she liked it but liked the box better. I put extra cheese in the box mix as it is so it was similar in taste but creamier. I'll have the leftovers soon so I hope it heats up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is the second time I've made this recipe. This time I made it almost exactly as written, just only used 1 T. dijon, because it's not my favorite (last time i left it out). Turns out it's not that great with the dijon. :( I also made two pounds of elbows, because last time with one was waaay too much sauce. I think it was about the right amount of pasta, but if you're not big on dijon mustard, leave it out completely. I may try with a teaspoon of spicy brown next time. Still rating it 4 stars, but for the version I made tonight, I honestly rate it a 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
loved it...its totally awesome and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very good base. With some adjustments to elevate flavors excellent. I get compliments and requests for the recipe frequently, and it's a hit with both kids and adults. This is not diet food, but if you're going for an awesome mac n cheese try this! -Substitute whole milk for evaporated. -Use dry mustard instead to taste. -Add onion (1/4-1/3 c) chopped fine and lightly sautéed. -Really heap the cheeses and add mozzarella for extra creaminess. It rounds the sharpness of the cheddar and parmesan. Or add Gruyere for a different flavor layer. -Option: add a few dashes of hot sauce if you're serving adults -Option: add 1 tsp "Better Than Bullion" chicken to the broth (and decrease salt as needed) Reheats well, can add a bit of skim milk to get creaminess back if it's dry. I've made a lot of mac n cheese (kids!) and have found the best is made on the stovetop. When you start baking pasta all that cheesy goodness gets absorbed into the macaroni resulting in dry tasteless mac n cheese. Nothing dry or tasteless about this recipe.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I liked this recipe-I tried it because it was creamy and it was! I did not use the Dijon mustard. Next time I probably will not use the Parmesan cheese and extra sharp cheddar but colby/jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristol_the_pistol
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Recipe turned out a little grainy. I'm not sure what I did wrong though. Will try to whisk for longer next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Tadaaaa!!!!!!!!!! I absolutely enjoyed this! I have been making macaronia & cheese for many years. This was the best I've ever made. So creamy & delicious! Panara Bread makes a creamy, delicious macaroni & cheese JUST like this; except they charge you $5.00 for about 4 ounces! I must admit that I too ommited the mustard (that scared me). Still it was total perfection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela G. Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe.....best mac and cheese ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Majikal Beauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I've made this macaroni and cheese twice now and it was loved by all both times! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe verbatim with the exception of the Dijon mustard. It's not really a taste that I associate with classic macaroni and cheese, so I opted to leave it out and it turned out great. The second time I made it, I included dustings of garlic powder and Cajun seasoning to give it some kick and it was even better than before. To those who have remarked that it was too saucy, simply make it ahead of whatever else you're preparing for the meal and let it sit on a warm burner for a while; it'll thicken up very nicely. Also, who complains about having to stir too much? This has like four cups of cheese AND flour in it. What do you expect!? Overall, this is an easy, delicious side dish that has a lot of potential for customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anhauser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
too much work for mac n cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States