Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This recipe is awesome! Granted I did make some alterations based on the other reviews. I used cream, rather than evaporated milk, 1/2 cup velveeta rathere than Parmesan, and I omitted the dijon mustard altogether, as it seemed like it would be overwhelming. It was unbelievably creamy, SO good. There was actually almost too much sauce for the amount of pasta, but I put it in the oven for about an hour to keep it warm while other food cooked and it ended up being absolutely perfect! Fantastic, I'll be making this again and again. The only thing I'd consider doing differently is possibly adding onion or garlic to give a tad more flavor. Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is one of my all time favorite things to make. It's also one of my most requested dishes from friends and family for holidays, or any occasion. Of course I substitute a few things: I use Heavy Cream (instead of evaporated milk) and 1 TBSP Ground Mustard (instead of dijon). And I think the more cheeses you mix in, the better so I'll use a lbs of shredded cheese as directed, but a mix of cheeses (gouda, mozzerella, cheddar, colby, etc... anything I have on hand works nicely). At the end, I'll add already cooked pieces of bacon in mine as well. Then I top with More shredded cheese and buttered Panko Bread crumbs and broil until the top is browned. Everyone I serve this to loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Made this (without the mustard) and everyone loved it! I make this everytime we want mac & cheese! Better and easier then my old traditional recipe! I used to make my old recipe for reunions and ended up taking half of it home. Now all I take home is an empty dish!! If you like mac & cheese, try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bskinner51207
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is my most favorite mac n cheese recipe ever! Ive looked all over the internet for a mac n cheese recipe that didnt require Velveeta, and this recipe is definitely the best Ive found! I have made it so many times and its always a big hit! I make this recipe exactly as is only minus the Dijon, just because its a personal preference. So delicious. If you love super cheesy mac n cheese, this is the recipe for you! YUM! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bskinner51207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Le Claire, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
So good! Very much like stouffers, creamy and thick. I did half sharp cheddar, half monterey Jack, and did not have any graininess at all. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I found this recipe to be just ok. my husband thought it was fine. but "fine" to me when i'm cooking just isnt what i'm wanting. To be fair - I did not have sharp cheddar, i used what cheese i had on hand which was colby jack. so i will try it again with the sharp cheddar and i'm sure that will change the flavor and spunk this recipe up. if it does - i will change my rating. and as some reviews state, it is almost too much sauch for the pasta. i used med. shells - i will use elbow next time and make a bit more pasta. PLEASE NOTE: i do not like mustard, but it was only 1 1/2 tablespoons in all that cheese sauce (this does make a LOT), I found the tang it added a nice addition and had no problem with the mustard being overwhelming and I didnt even use sharp cheese so with my milder version, i did not find the mustard "too much". try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I did not care for this at all. After spending a long time reading all reviews and taking notes i made this to suggestions. I will have to say all of the reviews failed to mention that the Parmesan cheese is way too much. i wouldn't make this unless you like tangy mac and cheese. I think i will stay will Velveeta & shells .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristiHoutz
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Bacon makes this dish perfect. I also like to add a panko breading on top and broil it to finish. I've also added lobster to this mac and cheese with different varieties of cheeses for Valentine's day. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristiHoutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is so easy and pleasing! I didn't have any cheddar, but it turned out great with jack cheese, very mild. I can't wait to try it with cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I read other reviews and was worried about it resulting grainy... So I whisked it from beginning to end and ended up with a really good creamy sauce. This recipe cooks really fast, so I would recommend having the ingredients pre-measured and just ready to pour into the saucepan. I would give it 5 stars, except that eating more than a half cup serving felt like too much good stuff. OH, and another thing.. I cooked sliced hot dog wieners on the side and added it to the finished dish. Very good! My husband said that was the best part of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by With A Twinkle In Her Eye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States