Creamy Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is my husbands favorite pie--bar none. His mother gave me this recipe when we were first married 28 years ago. The only thing I noticed was sometimes its a little runny after it sits, so I started putting 1/2t of cornstarch before mixing and it just comes out perfect everytime......its better than his mothers!!(which of course I love). Great pie.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MargCanCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This dessert really couldn't get much easier. I even made my own graham crust, and it still only took minutes to make. It was a wonderful, light, tangy dessert, perfect for the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made this pie yesterday and followed the directions. It was good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is the best lemon pie recipe I have found yet. It turns out perfectly EVERY time! I usually am told it looks like it came from a bakery! I do top it with Cool Whip instead of merangue. It is best to let the pie cool for 2 hours, top with Cool Whip and then chill for at least 2 more hours before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
We really enjoyed this pie. Perfect tart/sweet combo. Using freshly squeezed lemon juice is a must. I also added the zest from 1/2 lemon. This recipe is also on the Eagle Brand site, with an added layer of raspberries. Very easy (10 oz bag of thawed raspberries and cornstarch; heated until thick and clear and then poured on top of the cooked lemon layer.) Hubby loves raspberries so I added it. I added approx. 1/8 cup sugar to the raspberries. Perfect. We will enjoy this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
As written, this is just okay, but add 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract and a few drops of yellow food coloring, and you've got a winner. I prefer the graham cracker crust. Cooking time can be a little long. Sometimes it is done in only 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Morrison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Ok, I tweeked this a little. First, I added the zest of two lemons and used the juice from the lemons. Second...I used a merringue topping. I baked the pie for 1/2 the time and then added the meringue. Dropped the temp to 200 and baked for another 45 min. It was hit! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I loved the ease of this pie and the taste was delicious. Yes, it is a bit sweet...and my kids loved it. For adults, it was perfect with a cup of tea or coffee. But my pie didn't come out with a yellow filling but rather a dull, creme color...but this is meant to be eaten not seen. :) I topped it with homemade whipped cream and yes, ultra-pasteurized heavy cream and sugar/artificial sweeteners/stevia works great. *Cheers*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZCHOCTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Super simple. Not worth it. I expected this to be similar to a key lime pie as the ingredients were similar, but it was not creamy or looked anything like the picture. The filling was dense and more cake like than pudding like. It barely covered the bottom of a 9 inch pie crust and one side looked like it "fell" as it was not puffy like the rest. The flavor was fine, but the presentation was just not there. I only used the yolks as called for but wondered if maybe it needed the whole egg after all? Huge fail. Sorry Eagle Brand, this didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States