Creamy Kohlrabi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very good! I took the advice on another reviewer and sprinkled cheddar cheese on top. Souper Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was way more enjoyable then I thought kohlrabi could be. Made it by the recipe with one change. I added fresh squeezed lemon in the bowl before I served it. I think it added just the right about of zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windlegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great recipe. Omitted the orzo. Used a little leek i had left over as well, 2 stalks of celery. Used 2 1/2 cups veggie and chix broth, and 1/2 cup of unsweetened soy milk. Absolutely delicious. I like my soups a bit thicker, and this turned out wondeful. Also, add a clove of garlic. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delicious! Used less of the liquid ingredients; we like our soups thick. Added some garlic powder. Sea salt instead of regular salt. When all ingredients were simmered soft; used a hand blender to blend. Then added a large handful of fresh spinach. Did not simmer any longer. Did not add any orzo pasta. My husband loved it! Now a family favorite...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Lars
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I make this soup in huge batches using huge Kohlrabi! Nobody buys the big ones (softball or larger), but they work well for the soup. Use a strainer after you blend it to get any remaining strings of fiber out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Lars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
So delicious! The only thing I would recommend is making sure to peel the kohlrabi down to the softer white part - don't leave any fibrous bits cause they don't go away even in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Good, easy soup! Chicken stock or broth will also work. Any small pasta will work instead of orzo. I didn't like the taste of plain raw kohlrabi, but I wanted to find a way to use up what I had. My picky toddler loved it, I liked it, and the other adults were so-so on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Shred cheese and sprinkle on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Yum! I needed a recipe to use of Kohlrabi, which we had never had before. I followed the amounts in the directions, but had to adjust slightly based on what I had in the house. I added a cup of diced celery with the butter and onion and sauteed these together. I mashed the kohlrabi after cooking it in the broth mixture (for company, I'd puree--but it was fine with a bit of chunky texture for us). I used 1 cup of skim milk powder to 2 and 1/2 cups of water instead of milk (didn't have any reg. milk). Skipped the orzo (didn't have that either), but we truly didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
As far as cauliflower and kohlrabi soups go--this is probably 5 stars. I used chicken base instead of vegetable base (boullion) and also used 2 lbs of kohlrabi and 3 1/2 cups of each milk/broth. 1 huge onion and 2 green onions dash of lawry's and pepper and I thought it was great! Didn't have orzo on hand. Blended it (after slightly cooling) with my immersion blender (while still in the warm/hottish pot) and skipped dirtying the big blender. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States