Creamy Kielbasa and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
4 stars as written, but 5+ plus with these modifications: add 1/2 cup chopped carrots, an extra stalk of celery, 1 1/2 cups frozen corn, 2 chopped cloves of garlic, and cream of potato soup instead of cream of chicken. Seasoned with white and black pepper, parsely, and oregano and threw in a bay leaf. Also stirred in about a cup of shredded cheese, let simmer for 15 minutes, and it thickened up beautifully. Result? CREAMY & DELICIOUS!!! We loved this; both agreeing it is the best potato soup we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Extremely easy, extremely tasty! I used several of the revisions posted by others including adding a can of cream of celery soup, using the full pound of kielbasa, adding carrots and an extra stalk of celery. I also used whole milk instead of the water and red potatoes (skin on) because they hold together the best and are less likely to dissolve into mush. I started by sautéing the onions, carrots and celery in a light drizzle of olive oil before adding the other ingredients. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was simple, used on hand ingredients and didn't cost much to make. This is a nice base soup but if I make this again, I'll play with the recipe a bit to goose it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This recipe was delicious. I did use some thickening as well as far more potatoes than called for, an extra can of chicken broth (I didn't have beef) and 1 beef bouillon cube. This tasted almost like a traditional German soup that my mom-in-law makes that takes her all day to do. The only thing different in hers is homemade "kneflas" (noodles). I may try that next time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Really good warm comfort food. Being pregnant I tend to nod off right when it's time to think about "what's for dinner" so I threw all the liquid ingredients, meat, and veggies in my crock pot and cooked on low for about 4 hours. I then cooked on high for another hour after adding red potatoes. I omitted the beef broth, added a can of cream of celery, used milk instead of water, used onion powder instead of whole onion (my husband won't eat them), and threw in garlic, oregano and a bay leaf. I also added extra celery and carrots (will add more next time - I like a lot of veggies.) Might use low sodium cream soup and broth next time, but will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This was a hearty easy meal that made it to the table in short order. We doubled the potatoes, added a can of corn, and used smoked sausage. I also added a cup of cheddar. We topped it off with more cheddar and sliced green onion as a garnish and a side of crusty bread for dipping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
This soup is pure comfort food. It's quite easy to make--after the veggies and sausage are chopped, it's a hands-off meal. I prefer to slice the kielbasa into thin medallions and top the soup with strips of raw red bell pepper and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I did add carrots but that was the only change I made. This was pretty tasty and my only complaint is that the canned cream soup flavor came through more than I like and expected it to. If I make this again, I will make my own cream base and not use the can. Fresh herbs would also improve this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I am outraged about this recipe. Because of it all five of my children ages 15 thru 4 made me make it twice this week. My husband wants me to make it so he could eat it at work. This recipe is too good for a hard working women that has to keep making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was okay. My husband hated it, but he is not a fan of potato soup. The taste was fine, but it needed something else to make it something special and to make it more of a heartier meal. Maybe the addition of noodles as a prior reviewer stated or thicken it up more and serve over rice. Just by itself is not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States