Creamy Kielbasa and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
4 stars as written, but 5+ plus with these modifications: add 1/2 cup chopped carrots, an extra stalk of celery, 1 1/2 cups frozen corn, 2 chopped cloves of garlic, and cream of potato soup instead of cream of chicken. Seasoned with white and black pepper, parsely, and oregano and threw in a bay leaf. Also stirred in about a cup of shredded cheese, let simmer for 15 minutes, and it thickened up beautifully. Result? CREAMY & DELICIOUS!!! We loved this; both agreeing it is the best potato soup we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My fam loved this recipe. and my wife dosnt even like kielbasa, { I try not to hold that against her } I addad the hole pound of kielbasa, I couldnt see just using 3/4. I also used a bay leaf to help with det as I am a wiccan. I used the leaves from the celery also, and red russet potatoes for collar. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Made this for the family on the fly and even the leftovers were done by morning, Added corn, extra can of Chicken broth and tossed in some garlic. Oh I forgot the Celery,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Phinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Plumas Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I added fresh spinach to the recipe. It reminded me of a soup at the Olive Garden Restaurant. I believe any vegetable/legume would be great in this! A family keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Pretty good. Very easy and filling on a chilly day. I used the whole pound of kielbasa, because I just couldn't see saving 4 oz of kielbasa. I also cooked and drained the kielbasa first to cut down on the grease; this did not sacrifice taste! It's not a particularly attractive soup - it looks a little like a mud puddle or runny gravy, but I'm sure that's my personal preference. The taste is simple but good. Once complete, I thought it needed a little something extra so I added some bay leaf, oregano and garlic. Next time I make this I will either use red potatoes or 3/4 cup barley instead of yellow potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Belinda
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
What a great soup ~ I had a few changes due to lack of ingredients I had on hand. I used 8 smaller red skinned potatoes and a can of cream of celery + a small can of condensed milk in place of the raw celery because I had none and then just a dollop of butter on the top after it was heated through. I used the rest of the ingredients listed. We really enjoyed this soup and one I would definitely make again and also for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Great soup for a cold night! Used a pound of kielbasa and cooked it in the pot beforehand to get some of the grease off of it, drained the grease, then added the onion, celery and a garlic clove to the pot. Got the potatos and broth in, then added some chopped carrots and let it simmer. Also added a bay leaf, oregano, parsley and a little of this and that to boost the flavor. Used cr. of potato instead of chicken, and added about 8oz of frozen corn, then pureed about half the soup. After adding the puree back in, also put in a 12oz. can of evap. milk. Creamy, hearty, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very good. My husband really liked it! Fast and easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I made a few changes: sauteed the onions first is a little EVOO; used bouillon cubes instead of canned broth; didn't have celery or cream of chicken soup, so I used cream of celery soup; added a can of cheddar cheese soup; used a full pound of turkey kielbasa (I didn't want to save the extra four ounces). I thought it came out pretty good. I don't know if I'll make it again, though, because it still seemed a bit greasy, even with turkey kielbasa instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This was a definite keeper at our house. I am not a big fan of potato soups, but this one is so warm and filling! I was cold when I started eating dinner and so much warmer when I finished! Easy and Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States