Creamy Kielbasa and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I cooked the onion, celery, added carrots, and garlic in olive oil first. I added in the sliced turkey kilebasa and 4 cubed red potatoes. I let that cook a little. Then I added in cream of potato soup and cream of chicken soup. I added 1 can of reduced sodium chicken broth and 1 can of reduced sodium beef broth. I added about a cup of 2% milk. I let it all simmer for about an hour. I also added in onion powder, garlic salt, cayenne pepper and black pepper, oregano, italian seasoning, and bay leaves. Right before serving I let a tablespoon of butter melt in. I also mixed a little of the soup broth with about a tablespoon of flour and teaspoon of cornstarch. Then I poured that in the soup and let it simmer for a few more minutes. I served it with biscuits. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Delicious! I substituted smoked sausage, added some red pepper flakes and threw it all in a slow-cooker (I'm lazy and love my vegetables a little soggy). I served it over pasta, which turned it into more of a stew than soup. I'm definitely looking forward to the few days worth of leftovers in the fridge! This will certainly go into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Really good warm comfort food. Being pregnant I tend to nod off right when it's time to think about "what's for dinner" so I threw all the liquid ingredients, meat, and veggies in my crock pot and cooked on low for about 4 hours. I then cooked on high for another hour after adding red potatoes. I omitted the beef broth, added a can of cream of celery, used milk instead of water, used onion powder instead of whole onion (my husband won't eat them), and threw in garlic, oregano and a bay leaf. I also added extra celery and carrots (will add more next time - I like a lot of veggies.) Might use low sodium cream soup and broth next time, but will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I added some garlic powder, white pepper and salt and thickened with a little flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is delicious. I added some chopped carrots, garlic powder, and extra pepper. I added a cup of milk instead of water and some shredded cheese and half & half as well. Also, I thickened it with a little milk/flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Overall it had a good flavor. It needed a little more "kick" though. I will definately make again, but add a little more seasoning...maybe some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This tastes so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is a good soup. Easy to prepare, and fast. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Extremely easy, extremely tasty! I used several of the revisions posted by others including adding a can of cream of celery soup, using the full pound of kielbasa, adding carrots and an extra stalk of celery. I also used whole milk instead of the water and red potatoes (skin on) because they hold together the best and are less likely to dissolve into mush. I started by sautéing the onions, carrots and celery in a light drizzle of olive oil before adding the other ingredients. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
4 stars as written, but 5+ plus with these modifications: add 1/2 cup chopped carrots, an extra stalk of celery, 1 1/2 cups frozen corn, 2 chopped cloves of garlic, and cream of potato soup instead of cream of chicken. Seasoned with white and black pepper, parsely, and oregano and threw in a bay leaf. Also stirred in about a cup of shredded cheese, let simmer for 15 minutes, and it thickened up beautifully. Result? CREAMY & DELICIOUS!!! We loved this; both agreeing it is the best potato soup we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States