Creamy Kielbasa and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was surprisingly tasty. I found a Buy-1pkg.-get-2, sausage sale, and had no idea how to use them up. I tried this because it looked quick and I had all the ingredients on hand. It was VERY GOOD! I did add chopped carrots and a can of corn AND saute'ed the sausage(I used Reduced Fat summer sausage)for some added flavor. Will make again, the same way. Thank You, for a QUICK, EASY, and DELICIOUS recipe:can't have enough of those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I converted this to a slow cooker recipe. I used 32 oz cartons of chicken and beef broth and put in half of each into the slow cooker. I added 1/2 the potatoes and let them cook down to nothing. This created a nice thick base for the rest of the ingredients. When I got home, I added the rest of the broth, potatoes and veggies and let them cook through. I sauted the kielbasa to add some depth and through the meat in when the veggies were cooked. I omitted the can of condensed soup (cheaper that way and I didn't have it on hand.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was very good. I did make it differently than the recipe called. Not because I thought I could make it better, but because I didn't have everything. I omitted the celery, and used all chicken broth... even in place of the water. I believe it was 36 ounces total. I also used the whole pound of kielbasa (reduced fat) instead of 3/4 pound. I think the celery or some carrots would be good in this. I also think it would have been better if it would have been a bit thicker. I mixed some cornstarch with water and added it to the soup and it helped a little. Note: I tasted this right after I added the cream of chicken and kielbasa, and I was worried that it would taste too much like plain old "cream of chicken" soup. BE PATIENT. As the soup simmers, it will take on more of the flavor of the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANITEGAL316

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This came out great, using some of the suggetions from others, I added sliced carrots w/the potatoes, froz corn & peas at the end, used cream of celery soup (w/milk, not water) and I also added crumbled bacon and shredded colby cheese at the end. I "sweated" the celery, onion and minced garlic (with a little oregano and basil) in a combo of olive & chili oils at the beginning, before adding the potatoes & broth. Great flavor and a nice change from the way I always make kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was wonderful. Very easy. I added 2 cups more broth and 2 large carrots. Very tasty. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Next time I will omit the kielbasa...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Aaron rated this soup a 4.8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I cooked the onion, celery, added carrots, and garlic in olive oil first. I added in the sliced turkey kilebasa and 4 cubed red potatoes. I let that cook a little. Then I added in cream of potato soup and cream of chicken soup. I added 1 can of reduced sodium chicken broth and 1 can of reduced sodium beef broth. I added about a cup of 2% milk. I let it all simmer for about an hour. I also added in onion powder, garlic salt, cayenne pepper and black pepper, oregano, italian seasoning, and bay leaves. Right before serving I let a tablespoon of butter melt in. I also mixed a little of the soup broth with about a tablespoon of flour and teaspoon of cornstarch. Then I poured that in the soup and let it simmer for a few more minutes. I served it with biscuits. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Delicious! I substituted smoked sausage, added some red pepper flakes and threw it all in a slow-cooker (I'm lazy and love my vegetables a little soggy). I served it over pasta, which turned it into more of a stew than soup. I'm definitely looking forward to the few days worth of leftovers in the fridge! This will certainly go into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Really good warm comfort food. Being pregnant I tend to nod off right when it's time to think about "what's for dinner" so I threw all the liquid ingredients, meat, and veggies in my crock pot and cooked on low for about 4 hours. I then cooked on high for another hour after adding red potatoes. I omitted the beef broth, added a can of cream of celery, used milk instead of water, used onion powder instead of whole onion (my husband won't eat them), and threw in garlic, oregano and a bay leaf. I also added extra celery and carrots (will add more next time - I like a lot of veggies.) Might use low sodium cream soup and broth next time, but will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States