Creamy Kielbasa and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Pretty good! I used my slow cooker. used 2 cans of chicken broth, 4 red potatoes as suggested by another reviewer, milk, some seasonings. Put that on low for about 4 hours. Then I added 2 celery stalks, a pound of kielbasa, a can of cream of potato and frozen corn. Cooked that on high for another hour. Added about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese last. Next time, I will use russet potatoes cause I want them to break down. The red ones stayed pretty intact. Overall, very good! Will make again on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I'm sure it's not bad as is, but I did make a few changes. Sauteed the sausage, removed. Sauteed onion, celerey (2), carrot (2), and some crushed garlic, removed. Put in stock; added 4 peeled, cubed potatoes. REmoved after they'd boiled till fork-tender; pureed with some stock; returned to the pot. Added meat & veggies, 4 more potatoes, up to 1/2 lb of lentils. Brought to a boil, reduced to simmer, added 2 cups of milk - DON'T let it boil again. Let it slowly return to a simmer for at least 30 mins or till lentils are done. Didn't add soup. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is one of my family's favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Loved it!! I added more potatoes and carrots. And used the full pound of kielbasa. Next time I would probably add more kielbasa. My kids loved it!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MESBOR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very easy and quick and can add so many different vegetable to change it up. I used corn, carrots, potatoes, spinach and onion. Very good and hearty with crusty french bread. My husband and son loved it and asked me to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
sorry, but I thought this recipe was very blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I am outraged about this recipe. Because of it all five of my children ages 15 thru 4 made me make it twice this week. My husband wants me to make it so he could eat it at work. This recipe is too good for a hard working women that has to keep making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Fantastic! I made the recipe as written, other than using a full pound of kielbasa and adding a cup or so of frozen corn. Also delicious topped with cheddar cheese and/or sour cream. Served it with french bread. Will make again! I think next time I'll also add some chopped red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I made this for my family and they absolutely loved it. I did add more vegetables than suggested, because the more I add, the more I can get my kids to eat. My husband said "I think you just found our new potato soup."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Paulsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Very good. I added fresh mushrooms, onions, and used Johnsonville bold sausages. It is even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States