Creamy Kielbasa and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Oh Wow! What an easy and flavorful soup. Made it just according to recipe, but added a few extra seasonings. Added a dash each of savory, garlic, cumin, rosemary, and sage. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I did add carrots but that was the only change I made. This was pretty tasty and my only complaint is that the canned cream soup flavor came through more than I like and expected it to. If I make this again, I will make my own cream base and not use the can. Fresh herbs would also improve this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Good idea for a nice base. Used milk instead of water. Added corn and carrots along with parsley and oregeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I don't understand why people are taking a star away for lack of carrots. Traditional potato and kielbasa soup doesn't have carrots, but if you like them that's your thing. For me this soup is perfect, though I tweak it to my taste as well, which has nothing to do with the rating of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this because I had some kielbasa sausage taking up space in the freezer. I used chicken broth, beef broth, skim milk, thyme, rosemary, and salt for the base. I sauteed carrots,celery, onion, potatoes (4), and kielbasa in olive oil to soften them up a bit. Didn't add cream of chicken because I wanted a lighter soup. The flavoring is just right and itturned out very good. I used the lite version of kielbasa so it actually turned out to be very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I've made this for my family and also for potluck's at work & there's never any left! I sautee the sausage & onions together while the potatoes are simmering (I also use way more potatoes) & then toss it all together. I added carrots, garlic, a can of creamed corn to thicken it a little, cream of mushroom soup & milk instead of water. Yumm-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loulabell26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I followed this recipe as written and it was outstanding. You can really get creative and ad carrots, corn, shrimp, spinach, whatever. This one is a keeper and I'll keep going back to it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sMOEkin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
LOVE! Super easy, and you can throw anything you want. I added corn, oregano, thyme and parsley to liven it up a bit. I found one bowl to be very filling, but the man went back for seconds, he couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I added the carrots,corn,red potatoes(some skin left on) and xtra celery. I sauteed the onion,celery,carrots and kielbasa first. Then added liquids. I doubled recipe. I used 3 or 4 dashes of garlic salt w/parsley. My whole family really liked this soup. My daughter is going to cook it for her family. I cooked it for 40 minutes. At the end of cooking, I threw in a few handfuls of grated cheddar and blended well, then served. MMmm Mmm good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Outstanding, with some modifications from the reviews! My search for a good creamy potato soup is over. My changes: used cheddar cheese soup in place of cream of chicken (yum), added an extra 1/2 stalk of celery, cup+ of frozen corn, 2 chopped carrots, onion powder, oregano, pepper, minced garlic, and poultry seasoning. Followed cooking instructions as written, but ended up simmering for a bit longer, as I was waiting for my husband to get home. I only used 1/2 of a sweet onion, which I fished out at the end b/c my family doesn't like them. Added a handful of cheddar/monterey jack shreds at the end (not really necessary though). Topped with some more cheese and a dollop of sour cream in bowls. Super satisfying, yummy, thick, and creamy with no need for additional thickener. One more note: I made this a second time, doubled the recipe, and tried to do it in the slow cooker. I only used 1 can beef broth, added a can of cream of chicken soup, and cooked it about 3 1/2 hours on high (including about an hour with the lid slightly open to help thicken it). The potatoes weren't done and I was in a hurry so I moved it to the stove top to finish it off. It never thickened up as much as the first time making it. Problems were: not long enough in the slow cooker, then despite simmering another 20 mins or so the potatoes still didn't get very soft and definitely didn't break down. Point: do it on the stove, as my first review indicates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States