Creamy Kielbasa and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this because I had some kielbasa sausage taking up space in the freezer. I used chicken broth, beef broth, skim milk, thyme, rosemary, and salt for the base. I sauteed carrots,celery, onion, potatoes (4), and kielbasa in olive oil to soften them up a bit. Didn't add cream of chicken because I wanted a lighter soup. The flavoring is just right and itturned out very good. I used the lite version of kielbasa so it actually turned out to be very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I've made this for my family and also for potluck's at work & there's never any left! I sautee the sausage & onions together while the potatoes are simmering (I also use way more potatoes) & then toss it all together. I added carrots, garlic, a can of creamed corn to thicken it a little, cream of mushroom soup & milk instead of water. Yumm-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loulabell26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I followed this recipe as written and it was outstanding. You can really get creative and ad carrots, corn, shrimp, spinach, whatever. This one is a keeper and I'll keep going back to it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sMOEkin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
LOVE! Super easy, and you can throw anything you want. I added corn, oregano, thyme and parsley to liven it up a bit. I found one bowl to be very filling, but the man went back for seconds, he couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I added the carrots,corn,red potatoes(some skin left on) and xtra celery. I sauteed the onion,celery,carrots and kielbasa first. Then added liquids. I doubled recipe. I used 3 or 4 dashes of garlic salt w/parsley. My whole family really liked this soup. My daughter is going to cook it for her family. I cooked it for 40 minutes. At the end of cooking, I threw in a few handfuls of grated cheddar and blended well, then served. MMmm Mmm good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Outstanding, with some modifications from the reviews! My search for a good creamy potato soup is over. My changes: used cheddar cheese soup in place of cream of chicken (yum), added an extra 1/2 stalk of celery, cup+ of frozen corn, 2 chopped carrots, onion powder, oregano, pepper, minced garlic, and poultry seasoning. Followed cooking instructions as written, but ended up simmering for a bit longer, as I was waiting for my husband to get home. I only used 1/2 of a sweet onion, which I fished out at the end b/c my family doesn't like them. Added a handful of cheddar/monterey jack shreds at the end (not really necessary though). Topped with some more cheese and a dollop of sour cream in bowls. Super satisfying, yummy, thick, and creamy with no need for additional thickener. One more note: I made this a second time, doubled the recipe, and tried to do it in the slow cooker. I only used 1 can beef broth, added a can of cream of chicken soup, and cooked it about 3 1/2 hours on high (including about an hour with the lid slightly open to help thicken it). The potatoes weren't done and I was in a hurry so I moved it to the stove top to finish it off. It never thickened up as much as the first time making it. Problems were: not long enough in the slow cooker, then despite simmering another 20 mins or so the potatoes still didn't get very soft and definitely didn't break down. Point: do it on the stove, as my first review indicates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Great way to use kielbasa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
3 stars as written 5 stars after I was done with it :) I doubled everything, used 1 can cream chicken, 1 can cream celery, milk instead of water, added corn, shredded cheddar on top, garlic, red pepper flakes, onion salt and I made a roux to thicken. I did not use can broth but granuals instead. I am one of those ppl who eyeball stuff so I do not have precise measurments. LOL if I had any carrots I would have tossed those in also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I also swapped the cream of chicken soup for cream of mushroom, added another cup of chopped fresh mushrooms, and added carrots, a little bit of garlic and a handful of shredded white cheddar. I also added maybe a 1/4 cup of powdered milk to cream it up a bit more too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Good recipe, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States