Creamy Jalapeno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This was delicous - I used 1/2 the ranch pack as others said and doubled up the peppers, we like it hot! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I was expecting a lot more from this recipe than I got. I used 3 WHOLE jalapenos (with seeds) and twice as much cilantro as called for. The ranch seasoning was WAY overpowering. I think next time I will use half a packet of the seasoning, use a habenaro for a kick. I also had to add about 3 tablespoons of flour because it was way too ruiny for cracker toppings. I loved the cool flabvor of the cilantro followed by the zing of the pepper. If you are looking for a spicy dip, this isn't for you. Unless you add a few other peppers to give it the kick you are expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I have never had a creamy jalapeno dip, so I had nothing to compare this to, but my husband LOVED it. I did not have any ranch packets, so I used my spicy ranch salad dressing and mixed with sour cream, followed rest of recipe. My husband ate all of it with tortilla chips and asked me to make more for him to take to work. Thanks for recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Yummy! I had to alter this dip a bit because, believe it or not, my grocery store didn't have fresh jalapeno peppers! I used three whole from a jar--seeds and all. I also used fresh garlic and Hidden Valley Ranch "Fiesta" dressing mix. I added a couple of tablespoons of mayo, too. This was sooo good that I never got around to eating it with veggies, because it was so delicious with tortilla chips! I subsequently used it as a dressing for a salad that I brought to work, loaded with veggies and spinach, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I added some chopped fresh green chiles, a couple of pinches of salt, subbed minced garlic for powder, added a squirt or two of lemon juice & served it w/ sliced red peppers, celery, baby carrots & sliced banana peppers. Great dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was Okay. I used 2 peppers and extra cilantro, but it still tasted like ranch dip with a little kick. I will say that it tasted better the next day, but that's a lot of time to devote to a dip. It was good, nothing great. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This has quickly become a favorite. The dip is good for chips or vegetables, or you can even use it on sandwiches and tacos. In a pinch, you can make it without cilantro and it will still taste good. I followed the recipe exactly, and it rated 5 stars "as is", but I have a few changes that I prefer: 1) Double the jalapeno! 2) Use half the dressing mix. 3) Substitute 1 clove fresh minced garlic for the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
The ranch dressing mix overpowered the other flavors even though I put twice as much cilantro as called for. I was expecting more a jalapeno/cilantro taste but really just got a plain old ranch dip (with a little kick I must add!) There are several restaurants in our area (we live in Texas) that serve a creamy jalapeno dip that is scrumptious, so I was hoping to replicate that -- this recipe just didn't do it for us. The disposal had to eat most of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This is pretty good, and easy to make, too. I decided to use ½ of the package of ranch dressing, as we like less. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Great, easy! A bit too much of a ZIP for young kids, but great flavor and aroma! Nice color too! Don't need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States