Creamy Jalapeno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
My garden is overflowing with jalapenos, so I was looking for a new way to use them. This recipe is super quick and easy! I followed the recipe exactly (used low fat sour cream and the generic store brand ranch mix) and the longer I let it sit, the better it got. Right after I made it, I wasn't that impressed with the taste (tasted pretty much like ranch dip), but I just tried it again five hours later and the flavors are really improving! I can really taste the jalapeno and the cilantro now. I love spicy food and would say the heat is about a 3 on a scale of 1-10. Next time I will use fresh garlic instead of powdered. Definitel make this a day ahead of time to get the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I would recommend using half of the dressing packet as others have suggested. OK with vegetables, but tasted great on salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
AWESOME!! Reminds me of the dip Chuys in Texas makes. I recommend using fresh garlic instead of the powder or do fresh and powder garlic. I also blend it in my blender!!!! LOVE IT! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Made this for an office party. They loved it. Thought 2 jalapenos would be a bit too hot, but it wasn't. It was just right. I served with ruffled chips, but corn chips would probably be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I did not have any sour cream or dry ranch but I did the following changes and it came out great: added 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of ranch salad dressing, garlic powder, 1/2 tablespoon canola oil, 2 tablespoons yogurt, increased the number of jalapenos (I used 6 small ones from my garden but I love very spicy food) and used about 8 pickled jalapeno slices. I'm giving this 5 stars because ever since having creamy jalapeno dressing at Chuy's in Texas, my wife and I have been in love with it. And I have been trying to re-create it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Good stuff! I used jarred, sliced peppers (the "mild" ones)and chopped them up. I went easy on the cilantro, as we don't like it unless it's in salsa. Other than that, followed exactly. Next time, I will leave the cilantro out. This recipe is a good way to jazz up ranch dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
We could drink this stuff! I doubled the recipe, and used half low fat sour cream, half non fat yogurt. I also used a whole bunch of cilantro as we love the freshness. We use this as a topping on enchiladas, tostadas, tacos, even on a simple lettuce and tomato salad with chunks of avocado. A big family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This was delicous - I used 1/2 the ranch pack as others said and doubled up the peppers, we like it hot! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I was expecting a lot more from this recipe than I got. I used 3 WHOLE jalapenos (with seeds) and twice as much cilantro as called for. The ranch seasoning was WAY overpowering. I think next time I will use half a packet of the seasoning, use a habenaro for a kick. I also had to add about 3 tablespoons of flour because it was way too ruiny for cracker toppings. I loved the cool flabvor of the cilantro followed by the zing of the pepper. If you are looking for a spicy dip, this isn't for you. Unless you add a few other peppers to give it the kick you are expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States