Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I love Tuscan White Bean soup. This recipe is a good base, however many of the suggested modifications should be considered. Chicken or vegetable broth, extra garlic, and extra thyme & rosemary. I prefer using broccoli over spinach for much more taste. As a final touch, three necessities: 1. Fresh Parsley! About a handful chopped. Really adds a fresh taste. 2. Good Extra Virgin Olive Oil. Stir in about a 1/4 cup at the very end. Can't make a decent italian soup without using a decent olive oil. 3. And finally, some freshly grated quality parmesan cheese on top. None of that store shelf canned stuff. Good cheese goes a long, long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I love this soup! I didn't have white kidney beans, so I substituted garbanzo beans. Italian seasoning provided fabulous flavor and chopped tomato gave this recipe color! Whole wheat rotini pasta is the perfect filler. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Loved this recipe! I cooked off some chicken and used the broth instead of canned. I think adding some type of meat is needed or it would be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Very good! I was looking for recipes that included spinach, and came across this one. I took some other reviewers' suggestions - doubled the garlic, added extra thyme and some rosemary. I also used an immersion blender to puree. I may try adding some cooked chicken next time, but this is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was a good soup. I doubled the garlic and used celery seed in place of cerery because I didn't have any. I also used frozen chopped spinach. I used the immersion blender to semi-puree the soup and it worked very well...and I didn't have to clean the blender! Very healthy and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I thought this was delicious! I followed the advice from some of the reviews to replace the water with more broth and added a little extra beans. I also threw in some italian turkey sausage and used Great Northern beans because my store was out of white kidney beans. I thought it was healthy and delic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This soup was great. I made it during a huge snow storm last night, and my fiance and I loved it. I made a few changes, I added more celery, more garlic, and more thyme, then followed the recipe as written. What an excellent way to warm a cold snowy evening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Pretty good. I found it a little bland, even though I used the juice of half a lemon and zested the lemon rind as well. If I had to do it over, I would increase the garlic and thyme as well. I also used an entire bunch of fresh spinach, and it was WAY too much (and I love spinach)...I was getting whole mouthsful of nothing but spinach, so better to cut that in half. But tasty overall, and will make again with alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Just made this one and added finely chopped leek to the onion, celery and garlic.The soup tastes great and just as some other reviewers suggested, it helps to add some fresh ground pepper along with the Parmesan when serving. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabyota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
The thyme overpowered the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States