Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very Yummy. I added a little more garlic, sprinkled in some tarragon, and added some ground beef. Easy, inexpensive, and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was okay as directed, but it was too thick and too bland. I ended up adding 3 cups of chicken broth so that it was more like a soup and less like a thick stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is a great bean soup recipe. To make mine heartier, I added an extra can of beans after pureeing the soup. At the suggestion of others, I also used a lot more garlic (5 cloves) and threw in a bay leaf while sauteeing the vegetables. Tarragon is a great susbstitue for the thyme. Just use a couple of tablespoons of whole fresh tarragon leaves in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Delicious! I used 5 cloves of garlic, some thyme, and some dried parsley. I also used escarole instead of spinach - which was delish! And a bay leaf. I also used 32 oz of chicken broth instead of the water, but there was a little too much liquid - I'll try for 28 oz next time. So to soak up the extra broth, I added half a box of orzo noodles, uncooked, to the pot, and let it soak up the additional liquid. It came out more like a stew than a soup, but it was delicious! I will make it the same way next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great basic recipe. I used a large onion, 2 cloves of garlic, and 2 cans of chicken stock - omitting the water. Very tasty and satisfying, however next time I will start with sauteing some pancetta then adding the onion. Also when I make this soup again I will add the chicken sausage suggested by one of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was delicious! I did add some pancetta for some added flavor. My husband went crazy over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was very tasty! I did make some slight changes based on other suggestions. I used all chicken broth, substituted parsley for the thyme (don't like thyme), and drizzled my serving with a little olive oil. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
i used vegetable broth and added a bay leaf--it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This soup was great! I used Chicken Broth instead of the water, added chopped Cabbage and added sauteed Ham Cubes. Delicious!!! Love the taste with the lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
What a simple yet delicious soup. I only used one can of white kidney beans and 1 cup of water and forgot the garlic (I know, how do you forget garlic!). It is fabulous! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States