Creamy Italian Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I made this with the ingredients and proportions stated, using canola oil mayonnaise and extra virgin olive for the vegetable oil. After chilling about twenty minutes it tasted good, and the flavors were pretty well balanced. I gave it four stars because it's a good base recipe and I wouldn't have any problems with serving it to guests as is. I didn't give it the 5th star because it's on the mild side and think it could be better with extra Italian herbs or seasonings. I will definitely make again and try some of the other reviewers' suggestions. If the sugar didn't dissolve, I didn't notice it, but it might solve the problem for others to change the directions and dissolve it in the water/vinegar/lemon juice first before whisking with the oily ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Salads being a staple in our meals, we are always looking for dressings. This was a great dressing--tasty and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I really loved this dressing!.. The garlic was kind of suttle but I love garlic so maybe I'll add more next time... So refreshing I ate two servings of salad instead of my main course!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Delicious!!! I loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Used fresh-squeezed lemon juice and extra garlic; yummy and easy. Made a few hours beforehand and refrigerated. Many compliments from teenagers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was a great recipe. Very simple, and I had all the ingredients in the pantry (big plus!). My boyfriend and I gobbled it up after I let it sit in the fridge for a little bit (per reviews). There's still a bit left over for tonight, so I'm looking forward to trying it after its sat a bit as people suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Great dressing base! I used red and white wine vinegars and no citrus, added olive oil instead of veggie oil, added a pinch of salt, and used fresh basil and oregano from the herb garden instead of dried herbs. Eyeballed everything, turned out very tasty! I look forward to trying it with parmesan like others have suggested; the suggestion of tomato paste is also intriguing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Quick & easy dressing to pull together. I used Italian seasoning instead of the oregano & I used lite mayo. I would have liked to see what it tasted like after sitting but there was not any left...which means someone had more than their share of salad that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This recipe is truly exceptional. I have to keep my guests from digging in with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adamkukuk
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I followed the directions to a T!!!! It is great my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States