Creamy Italian Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This had too much of a mayo taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I was amazed how good this was! I was out of salad dressing so I looked some recipes up and I had all of the ingredients for this on hand. I used Miracle Whip and skipped on the sugar. Nice and tangy, will try next on a pasta salad or experiment with a crab salad. Thanks for the recipe,will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This has become a household staple. I usually halve the sugar and add 2 Tbsp of parmasean cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
A good basic recipe to use. I did add a little black pepper and some crushed red pepper to jazz it up a bit though! To the reviewer who used Miracle Whip..Miracle Whip already has a high sugar content (compared to real mayo) that is why you didn't need to add the sugar to the recipe. I actually used Smart Balance light mayo, which I did not like on it's own, but tasted fine once mixed with the other ingredients. I will use again, great on pasta salad. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathi from NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I enjoyed this dressing. I did add about 1 tsp of Italian seasoning in addition to the oregano, because without it I felt like the mayonaise taste overpowered this dressing and I like a zesty Italian. Nice consistency and taste though once I made this change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
this was fantastic. i tasted it before i added the sugar and found it a little sweet already so i added more red wine vinegar and took out the sugar. i also threw in 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes and it worked really well. i tossed it into a pasta salad and it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This is gorgeous! Have made it to dress an asparagus appetizer, found it too creamy when i first tasted it then realised i'd missed the lemon juice so added that and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic in the UK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This dressing is so amazing. I love it. I added a pinch of crushed red pepper, salt and pepper. It was fantastic. Gerat way to wow people at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I just made this for a broiled chicken and greens salad. I used a pretty good size (huge) garlic clove, don't measure spices, but probably added more red wine vinegar than recipe called for and only a very small pinch of sugar. I think a little crushed red pepper might be good too, but didn't try it. Before I put it on the salad I dipped a broccoli floret in it, and thought what a great dip for veggies, using sour cream to thin it down some. I'll make this again I'm sure. Very tangy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This dressing is restaurant quality. With homemade dressings of this quality, there's absolutely no reason to buy it at the store. The flavor of this recipe reminds me of one of the house dressings at a steakhouse in Iowa called "The Pink Poodle." It may not be as good, but it's pretty darn close. Honestly, I wouldn't change a thing--unless you just "have" to--so you can put your own stamp on it. I am not a big Italian dressing fan, but CREAMY Italian, with a recipe like this, is well worth having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States