Creamy Italian Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This dressing received mixed reviews in my house. I thought the flavor was good, although it did have a strong onion flavor. I did only use about 1/2 cup of onion as suggested by the recipe author in her review. The only thing I didn't like was that it was very thin and didn't cling to the salad. It was just slightly thicker than milk. I used a good quality mayonnaise, so, I don't know if my onion had quite a bit of juice in it, but, it definitely needed to be thicker for my taste. My husband didn't like the dressing at all. He thought it had too strong of a onion flavor, was too sweet, & didn't taste like a creamy Italian dressing at all. I might try again, but, use less onion and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I've made this dressing several times now & we all love it! I used a milder onion as suggested & it did not overpower the dressing. I love that this recipe is easy to make & the ingredients are things you usually have on hand. Simple yet full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Awesome. I just decided to try something new. The only thing I would change would be less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexthomas58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Flavorful dressing fabulous with mixed greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Tasty dressing, a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I needed to dress up a pasta salad that I'd made from the box so I made a 1/2 recipe of this dressing and used it.. it was very, very good. I'd make this again for sure. I like the creaminess of this better than an oil & vinegar based dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
THIS IS DELISH!!..I think it deserves 5 stars but with the few minor changes, I had to give it 4...I only used half the sugar and half the vinegar...I stirred well then put in mason jar in fridge to let set...was perfect texture...I think maybe the blender would make it a little too liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I use this as a base for a 'creamy' cold italian pasta salad. Do not substitute! You will not have the same, great flavor. This is a great dressing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wonderful! I used 1/2 cup white onion as Cathy suggested and the dressing came out perfect. Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I decided to try a quick pasta salad and wanted a creamy Italian dressing. I really had no idea if there was such a thing having only used the typical one. I decided to search "Allrecipes" and was surprised and pleased to come across this one. I made it according to the recipe and was so happy with the outcome that I quickly shared it with my sister and both of my daughters! It really was my kind of recipe: few ingredients, easy and delicious! Thank you Cathy for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States