Creamy Italian Chicken and Orzo Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I followed another reviewer's suggestion and made my own cooking creme using a block of cream cheese thinned out with some half and half and chicken stock. I also added garlic, mushrooms and shredded carrots. I thought it was good, and liked the versatility of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This tastes amazing and it's so quick and easy! I also added sliced mushrooms and pearl onions and used grape tomatoes instead of chopped tomatoes. I also added a little white wine to the chicken while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
In order for this to taste fabulous to our pallette, you must double the sauce ingredients, including the cream cheese cream. We substituted bow tie pasta for orzo and it was a hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Wow, great recipe! Along with the fresh tomatoes and zucchini, I sauteed in some onions as well. I loved the fresh flavor of all the chunked veggies. I have to admit I didnt happen to have any cooking creme. I knew what it tasted like, so I just replicated it by making my own with a stick of cream cheese, lots of herbs, garlic, and cream. It came out delicious! The nice light cream sauce and veggies over top of the creamy orzo pasta paired so well together. I did double the tomatoes. This recipe will be going along with my other top favorite recipes to make more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was excellent & I highly recommend it! I did make quite a few changes, so I will be submitting my own version as I used this recipe as a guideline for my own recipe. But, for anyone who wants quick & easy, this is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Like to make my own sauces - "BUT" had a serious coupon for this cream cheese Italian mixture, so I bought it. It would be fantastic as written, as the Cooking Creme is very tasty, thus the five stars. I am a "tweaker" - so this is what I did - if it inspires you to walk on the wild side and veer off the directions. I did it as a one pot meal. Little butter and EVOO to saute lots of veggies (Zucchini/Red Onion/Mushrooms/Sun Dried Tomatoes/Yellow Squash/lots of garlic and chopped tomatoes. Saute until lightly browned. Remove from pot and set aside. I didn't wash the pot. Using whatever was still in the pot (not much) I browned a whole box of Orzo in Butter (2 T.) until it browned lightly and then added a full box of chicken broth and cooked it down until it puffed (25 minutes) Added Cream Cheese Italian blend and mixed until Orzo was covered and then tossed back in the Veggie mixture and mixed. Served with a Salad. The whole family loved. Little kids would like this too. I also added red pepper flakes - which you could not do - because I wanted a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was soooo good! I had zucchini and tomato from my garden to use so that made it just that much better! Even my 2 year old was digging right in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I made it last night. Instead of chopping a tomato, I used 1/2 can diced tomatoes, since my fiance and I are not fans of tomatoes. I also completely forgot that he doesn't like zucchini (whoops!), but he loved it! We couldn't eat it fast enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
It doesn't have a "from scratch" taste but it is quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
SOOOO easy! Way better than any "jar" sauce. I used broccoli instead of zucchini....you could use lots of veggies, squash, bell peppers, etc. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States