Creamy Irish Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I have made this soup for years...great when seasoned with dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
this was a good soup, but i changed the recipe. i dident have green onions so i used half of a large yellow onion, then i didnt fry the onions in the pan with butter, i just cooked them in with the potaotoes, i cut back on the milk and i left a small portion of just bearley mashed poatotes, instead of blending them all, to make the soup have more texture. it was defaneetley watery, not as thick as i would like it thhough. but it would make an awesome base for differant homemade soups! :) also goes good with finger sandwitches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
easy, tasty what more can I say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
nice quick and easy soup to make. only blend half of soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schussler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I agree with the poster who said only blend half. Works better when you have chunks of potato in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coastal Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My family of eight loves this tasty and economical soup, and we make it regularly. We sometimes add bacon bits to our individual bowls for extra flavor. (Note-- It's nearly impossible to make something that everyone in this family loves.) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grover, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I love this soup. I make it all the time. I have used ham from the holidays instead of baccon and it tuned out quite lovely. I also like to add carrots and leeks if I happen to plan ahead. I too blend only half of this soup, and I like to add just a dollip of sour cream when I'm blening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
What a great soup for my 1 year old! I only blend had the soup though, so that it is still a little chunky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I've made this recipe before, and it was fantastic. My mother in law made a variation of this same recipe. It was DELICIOUS! She added bacon (because my husband insists on meat at every meal), and it was a great touch. She also added sour cream, about a small container's worth.Excellent recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This soup is so easy to make and it's delicious! I made it for our "Cultural Diversity" potluck at work and this was the only dish that didn't have to be packed up for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renssa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States