Creamy Irish Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I have made this soup for years...great when seasoned with dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
this was a good soup, but i changed the recipe. i dident have green onions so i used half of a large yellow onion, then i didnt fry the onions in the pan with butter, i just cooked them in with the potaotoes, i cut back on the milk and i left a small portion of just bearley mashed poatotes, instead of blending them all, to make the soup have more texture. it was defaneetley watery, not as thick as i would like it thhough. but it would make an awesome base for differant homemade soups! :) also goes good with finger sandwitches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
easy, tasty what more can I say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
nice quick and easy soup to make. only blend half of soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schussler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I agree with the poster who said only blend half. Works better when you have chunks of potato in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coastal Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My family of eight loves this tasty and economical soup, and we make it regularly. We sometimes add bacon bits to our individual bowls for extra flavor. (Note-- It's nearly impossible to make something that everyone in this family loves.) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grover, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I love this soup. I make it all the time. I have used ham from the holidays instead of baccon and it tuned out quite lovely. I also like to add carrots and leeks if I happen to plan ahead. I too blend only half of this soup, and I like to add just a dollip of sour cream when I'm blening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
What a great soup for my 1 year old! I only blend had the soup though, so that it is still a little chunky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I've made this recipe before, and it was fantastic. My mother in law made a variation of this same recipe. It was DELICIOUS! She added bacon (because my husband insists on meat at every meal), and it was a great touch. She also added sour cream, about a small container's worth.Excellent recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This soup is so easy to make and it's delicious! I made it for our "Cultural Diversity" potluck at work and this was the only dish that didn't have to be packed up for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renssa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States