Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I came across this recipe in search of chocolate, and since it has been cool lately I thought I would give it a shot. I only made a single serving and used the microwave instead of the stove. I heated up the water for about 120 seconds (2 min.) and followed the directions from there. When I got to heating up the milk mixture I put it in the microwave for 45 sec., stirred, another 30 sec., stirred, and a final 15 sec. It was very creamy and I enjoyed it, but there was one thing that I didn't care for. I think that it was a little too sweet, but that doesn't interfere with the recipe. Ultimately, I will definitely make this again, and for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Too sweet! I only put in a half a cup because that sounded like a lot. Then I added more milk... a lot more milk. Still could barely drink it! Maybe you should start out with a quarter cup sugar and go from there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Loved it! Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was a big hit in my family. It's much better than the premade kind, and it's very easy as well. Like many others, this was far too much sugar for my taste, so I reduced it, but other than that I quite liked this recipe, and I'm sure I will be making it often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe is spectacular! I read the other reviewers suggestions and reduced the sugar to a 1/2 cup and increased the vanilla to 1 tsp. I used my good vanilla and boy was it delicious! Made a pot of this one morning for the kiddos and I, and we all loved it! This is a keeper for sure! A MILLION times better than Swiss Miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMadeWaffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otsego, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Excuse me, How much does this serve? I didn't try this but it was asking for ratings so I gave it a 5-star according to viewers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is what heaven tastes like in the winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is awesome in winter! My husband is not a chocolate fan, but he asks me to make this for him every winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lampasas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was so delicious and perfect after we came in from sled riding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 808) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States