Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This is sooo good! I, too, only added 1/2 c sugar. I never use half and half so I decided to use evaporated milk instead. I didn't want to waste the other 8 oz of evap milk so I just poured the 12 oz can into a 4 c measure and then filled with milk and heated it all. I didn't bother with adding some cold milk to the hot chocolate. Yum Yum, just what I wanted on a cool morning, thanks Jeanie Bean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
741 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
OMG - this is the best cocoa!!! I made it as the recipe stated and it was overly sweet for my taste. Then made it per the reviewers suggestions and it was much, much better! Definitely decrease the sugar to 1/2 cup; your blood sugar levels will thank you!!! Increased the vanilla to 1 teaspoon and a note of caution - DO NOT use cheap vanilla as you can taste the difference between good vanilla and the inexpensive type sold in the supermarket. You'll be glad you did... Thanks Jeanie for submitting this great recipe! Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
618 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I am sipping this cocoa as I type this review. It is very very good! Much better than any crud you get in the packets, you know that there aren't any dyes or anything artificial in this which is why I choose to hand-make our cocoa. I gave it a 5 star rating but it is very, very sweet! And I have a sweet tooth! ***AND*** I only used 1/2 C sugar. I would definitey not use the 3/4 C, it will be too sickening sweet. To make it less sweet you could either decrease the sugar amount further or add more hot water, I suppose. Overall great alternative to the store bought "stuff".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
495 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
This cocoa was indeed creamy and tasty. Although my family found it entirely too sweet. The second time I made it I used a little less than 1/2 cup sugar and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This recipe is from the Hershey's box with added sugar and half & half, that's all. Ironically, most cut the sugar to the same measurement as Hershey's. I must agree. I added 1/4 c of malted milk but will go with 1/2 c next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Best hot chocolate I have made and I have made several listed on this site. I did reduce the sugar but then turned around and added some Starbuck's mint syrup which is sweet. Heavenly! So rich it tastes like melted candy bars. Very creamy! Mmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Excellent and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
pretty good, but very, very sweet. next time i'll add less sugar and maybe use unsweetened chocolate pieces instead of the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
WAAAAAYYYYYYY too sweet. But great flavor otherwise. I will definitely keep the recipe, just cut the sugar by 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
this is the best hot chocolate reciepe that i have ever made so rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States