Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Way, way, way too sweet. I love sugar, but this was ridiculous. I followed reviews and added only 1/2 a cup and it was still super sweet. I made it with just a touch over 1/3 cup and it was delicious. I didn't bother with 1/2 and 1/2 as I'm lactose intolerant. So I'm not even sure if I made this recipe, in the end. I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa and my favorite was with Lactaid milk and Sugar in the Raw. The vanilla was unnecessary but a nice touch, if you have the good stuff. I drank a pot by myself two nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I cut the sugar down a bit. Still delicious, still comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Just tried the recipe, basically very good, but will halve the sugar next time..(was a big buzz).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
this a delicious and easy hot chocolate to make. It was very sweet, next time i will probably use less sugar. I also added a quarter or a teaspoon or peppermint extract and a pinch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Warm and creamy! MMM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okc foodadict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is THE best hot cocoa recipe!!! However, I used heavy cream instead of half and half... SOOOOOO Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
The best hot cocoa ever. We used 1/4 cup sugar, 1 1/2 cups half and half and 2 cups almond milk... Also topped with marshmallows and dark chocolate curls. Delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe but added Bailey's instead of cream at the finish. This made for the best grown up snow day drink we've ever had! Next time, Kahlua! Thanks for sharing a delicious and decadent recipe. Definitely in the Hall of Fame for winter drinks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Good but way too sweet, could have cut the sugar by a 1/3. I added about a teaspoon of espresso powder for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Heaven in a cup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti'sPantry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States