Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Love this with a bit of peppermint extract to make a Candy Cane Hot Chocolate - just garnish with some whipped cream, crushed candy canes, and whole candy cane used as a stirer :) The kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I used a half cup of sugar in the recipe. I think it is rich, chocolatey, and delicious. This is my 'go to' hot chocolate recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts And Nevis
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I intended to make as is, but decided I didn't want to use up all my milk and have leftover half and half that would just go bad, so I used 1 cup milk and the rest half and half. It was nice and creamy! My only complaint is that this cocoa was too sweet for my liking. When I make again, I will cut back on the sugar. Had I read the reviews, I would have realized that "too sweet" is the main complaint about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this exactly as it is written and holy cow chocolate explosion!!! This is only for the extreme chocolate lover and it was awesome! I might try a little less sugar and more milk next time as it was pretty intense, but overall it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Very rich and creamy! I agree with others that you should reduce the sugar if you are not a fan of super sweet. However, I did like it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
WAY too rich for my taste. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup, and still found I needed to add 2-3 x the amount of milk before it was not too sweet to drink. Still a good basic recipe, but next time, I'll make the syrup, then add it to the milk to taste, keeping the rest of the syrup for a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Really really liked this recipe. I cut the ingredients in half to only make two servings. As others have mentioned...it was super super sweet, so I ended up adding more boiling water until it was to my liking. I added half and half until it was how I wanted it and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My husband was craving something creamy and sweet and tried to make one of those cocoa packets, but it was just awful, so I jumped on this site and "creamy hot cocoa" seemed to fit the bill. It took less than 10 minutes to make and was absolutely delicious. I thought it was a tad too sweet, so I will reduce the sugar next time. So glad I found this before Christmas, I shall add it to our rotation of holiday/winter beverages and will never be buying those awful packets again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Well, before I read the other comments, I decided to lower the amount of Sugar and cocoa powder. I didn't get 4 cups, I got 3, but it was amazing! This recipe is simple and so delicious! I used Peppermint instead of Vanilla (I didn't have any Vanilla) and it was still great! I would definitely only put 1 or 2 drops of Peppermint! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
made this with almond milk and plain soy yogurt instead with only a tablespoon of sugar...everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States