Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I am reviewing this as I enjoy a cup with a toasted bagel with butter and cinnamon sugar. It is everything I want in a cup of hot cocoa. I used skim milk because it is the only kind I have, and after it warmed a little in the pan, I added a 5 oz. can of evaporated milk and heated it until done. I did not use the half & half as I didn't have it. I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and used 1 tsp. of vanilla. Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
My son looked up BEST HOT COCOA recipe and this came up! He texted me the recipe. :) Followed to the T! This will be our new tradition for special occasions!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipe is really, really good. It' will definitely help with those chocolate cravings and its creamy. I like this ALOT. What did I do differently, I used a dark cocoa, personal preference, I changed the sugar to just under 1/2 cup and its still pretty sweet. I also used almond milk instead of half and half and for my own personal taste, I added some cinnamon and a hint of cayenne pepper to the cup before I added the mixture from the stove. This is what cocoa is supposed to feel like :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Srvhim4life

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
It's amazing and very sweet indeed. I cut half the amount of sugar and it was really good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very good, no left overs with this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is now my go to favourite. It can be made with or without the corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was really good. I made a big batch, 18 servings, after I added the milk and vanilla I transferred it all to a slow cooker on high for about an hour and a half. Perfection! (did go with less sugar though like others had said)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I may cut down just slightly on the sugar next time but very tasty receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Instant family favourite! Hubby will take this over Tim Hortons hot chocolate anyday! (this is saying alot) A little too chocolatey, rich for me, but so easily rememedied by diluting with more milk. Make a big batch and store in fridge for a quick treat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is creamy and delicious even without the half and half somehow. I also took out a quarter of the sugar and it was perfectly sweet just like that. This is a keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States