Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I modified, after reading other reviews of this recipe, by reducing the amount of sugar. Other than that, excellent. My daughter often asks me for hot cocoa now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Used 1/2 cup of sugar as others did, and it is the best ever! I make a full batch, refrigerate the left-overs, and reheat in the microwave as needed (within a couple days). Just remember to stir it before you pour it into a mug to reheat it, because the cocoa settles to the bottom as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sideshowoddity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Amazing as it is with a little less sugar. But lately I've been trying to stay away from dairy. It's snowing where I am and I really wanted some hot chocolate after playing in the snow and the only thing I had laying around was almond milk. So I tried it. And it came out pretty good. In all honesty you can't beat the real deal but for all those who can't indulge in dairy it's a nice change. It kind of tasted like chocolate covered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Yummy! Me and the kids were disappointed not to have any instant cocoa, so we gave this a try. So much better than a packet! We didn't have cream, so used 2 cups 1% milk and it was still awesome. Definitely sweet, so I might reduce sugar if just for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was really excellent, the 2nd time I made this I cut the cocoa to 1/4 c and it was much better (original was too cocoa-y) really yummy kids loved it after playing in the snow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Delicious! But watch your milk, once it starts boiling, it might blow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I am reviewing this as I enjoy a cup with a toasted bagel with butter and cinnamon sugar. It is everything I want in a cup of hot cocoa. I used skim milk because it is the only kind I have, and after it warmed a little in the pan, I added a 5 oz. can of evaporated milk and heated it until done. I did not use the half & half as I didn't have it. I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and used 1 tsp. of vanilla. Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
My son looked up BEST HOT COCOA recipe and this came up! He texted me the recipe. :) Followed to the T! This will be our new tradition for special occasions!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipe is really, really good. It' will definitely help with those chocolate cravings and its creamy. I like this ALOT. What did I do differently, I used a dark cocoa, personal preference, I changed the sugar to just under 1/2 cup and its still pretty sweet. I also used almond milk instead of half and half and for my own personal taste, I added some cinnamon and a hint of cayenne pepper to the cup before I added the mixture from the stove. This is what cocoa is supposed to feel like :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Srvhim4life

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 808) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States