Creamy Homemade Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I wasn't sure if I would like this one, but I tried it anyway and I'm glad I did! It is a nice change from beef stew. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This recipe was very good. I did it on stove top instead of crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Because of so many complaints about the soup separating, I made it on the stove, adding the milk in at the end just enough to warm it through with the rest of the soup. I used chicken that I had slow cooked the day before. I used a regular onion, which I sauteed in butter since I don't care for pearl onions. Aside from these minor changes, I followed the recipe and it was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I am a 69 year old women with a tight budget and found this recipe to be great. I plan on serving it to my family when they come to visit. Very good, inexpensive and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Really turned out great. It did separate in the crock pot but a little corn starch and all was fine. Next time I'll add the milk last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I followed the recommendations from "What a dish", and this turned out incredible! I followed her directions exactly, but the only thing I changed was I used 2 chicken breasts. I cut them into bit sized pieces about 4 hours into cooking. I also added a 1/4 cup of barley in the beginning. I added frozen peas and corn about an 1.5 hour before we ate, and added the evap milk and flour about 45 min. before. I probably will add that a little sooner next time. Probably at about an hour before we eat. This is one heck of a tasty recipe. We crumbled crackers into each bowl, and topped w/ a little sharp shredded cheese. Yum!! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was great! I made it twice in one week because everyone loved it so much! Both times I just used whatever frozen vegetables I had in the freezer and it was really wonderful. A new favorite for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
we liked this stew, I did make a couple of changes, i doubled the recipes but left the evaporated milk and flour amounts the same, I used chicken thighs and canned mushrooms, and I added the milk and flour in the last 15 minutes of cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I followed a lot of What a Dish!'s recipe variation: I used three smallish boneless skinless chicken breasts, 2 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups of veg broth, around ½ tsp rosemary, several grounds of pepper, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1/4 of a large onion (chopped). I let this all cook on high for 2 hours, then I chopped the chicken breasts into bite-size pieces. I added 6 oz of mushrooms (sliced in half) and let cook for 2 hours on low. I added 3 potatoes (cubed) and 12 baby carrots. I let it cook another two hours, then I added a cup of frozen peas and let it cook another half hour. I mixed around ½ cup flour with a 12-oz can of evaporated milk and mixed around 3/4 of this into the stew and let it cook around 45 minutes longer. I was very good with homemade biscuits! I agree that you should NEVER add dairy in the beginning of slow cooking. I have found, though, that if you have something start to separate in the pot, you can stir in some sour cream to help bring it back together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Gave this four stars after following some of the comments left by What a Dish! I placed 7 chicken legs (skin removed), carrots, potatoes, celery and red peppers in the crock pot, added approx. 2 - 3 cups chicken broth and cooked until the chicken was done. I pulled chicken out to remove meat from bones. While I was doing that I added frozen peas and corn (no need to thaw before hand) and a drained can of mushrooms. Once the chicken was shredded I replaced that in the crock and added a full can of evaporated milk mixed with the flour. I added poultry seasoning, garlic powder, lot of freshly cracked black pepper and a dash or so of tumeric. I let this cook for about 30 minutes. The final result was a creamy, hearty chicken stew that the family loved. It seems like many people have had problems with this recipe and it was making me afraid to try it. I'm really glad I did because I think the main problem with the original recipe is putting in the evaporated milk too early. With the suggested changes this recipe is certainly going into my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States