Creamy Homemade Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was great! I made it twice in one week because everyone loved it so much! Both times I just used whatever frozen vegetables I had in the freezer and it was really wonderful. A new favorite for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I followed the recommendations from "What a dish", and this turned out incredible! I followed her directions exactly, but the only thing I changed was I used 2 chicken breasts. I cut them into bit sized pieces about 4 hours into cooking. I also added a 1/4 cup of barley in the beginning. I added frozen peas and corn about an 1.5 hour before we ate, and added the evap milk and flour about 45 min. before. I probably will add that a little sooner next time. Probably at about an hour before we eat. This is one heck of a tasty recipe. We crumbled crackers into each bowl, and topped w/ a little sharp shredded cheese. Yum!! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I followed a lot of What a Dish!'s recipe variation: I used three smallish boneless skinless chicken breasts, 2 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups of veg broth, around ½ tsp rosemary, several grounds of pepper, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1/4 of a large onion (chopped). I let this all cook on high for 2 hours, then I chopped the chicken breasts into bite-size pieces. I added 6 oz of mushrooms (sliced in half) and let cook for 2 hours on low. I added 3 potatoes (cubed) and 12 baby carrots. I let it cook another two hours, then I added a cup of frozen peas and let it cook another half hour. I mixed around ½ cup flour with a 12-oz can of evaporated milk and mixed around 3/4 of this into the stew and let it cook around 45 minutes longer. I was very good with homemade biscuits! I agree that you should NEVER add dairy in the beginning of slow cooking. I have found, though, that if you have something start to separate in the pot, you can stir in some sour cream to help bring it back together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
i followed the recipe exact. It was more like soup, and tasted like a sugar cube. I think the pearl onions made it far to sweet. I couldnt eat half the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This recipe was very good. I did it on stove top instead of crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
The flavor of this was fine, but we didn't care for the presentation. Taking the meat off the drumstick bone was cumbersome and the milk separated like so many others have said, even though I didn't add it until halfway through the cooking. It was certainly fine and we ate it, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
It had a great flavor but it was a little runny for a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I don't know how many stars to leave, because I admit I really changed this recipe, but I had to in order for it to work. One unwritten rule of crockpot cooking is: don't leave dairy products (namely milk or cheese) in the crockpot for extended periods of time. It will separate and just not work. So here's what I did. I put the chicken (used one large boneless chicken breast) in the crockpot with 3 cups of broth and all of the veggies except peas (omitted mushrooms). 3 cups of broth worked well- I don't see how it could have worked with 1. About an hour and half before we ate, I shredded the chicken and added the frozen peas (2 cups, not thawed). Then 30-45 minutes before we ate, I mixed one can (forget "one cup") of 2% evaporated milk with the flour in a large liquid measuring cup. Added that in and turned the slow cooker to high. Cooked until thick enough. Served with Butter Cresents from this site- yummy, good, comforting and filling! With my changes it's a 5, but as written, I'd say 3.... so I guess I'll give it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I too had the problem of the milk separating. I didn't have any potatoes in either. It looked bland so I put a sachet of creamy chicken soup in which helped a bit, but I still had to "rescue" the meal by putting it in a pie dish and covering it with breadcrumbs and cheese. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Really turned out great. It did separate in the crock pot but a little corn starch and all was fine. Next time I'll add the milk last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States