Creamy Homemade Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Because of so many complaints about the soup separating, I made it on the stove, adding the milk in at the end just enough to warm it through with the rest of the soup. I used chicken that I had slow cooked the day before. I used a regular onion, which I sauteed in butter since I don't care for pearl onions. Aside from these minor changes, I followed the recipe and it was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe for a party. Thankfully, I made it up a couple of days ahead of time so had plenty of time to 'tweak' it. Apparently, I didn't read the reviews closely enough or I could have been more prepared I saved it by adding 2 large cans (I'd doubled the recipe) of condensed cream of chicken soup along with more spices. In the end, mine was a hit -- hearty, creamy and delicious! But if I could give this recipe 0 stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
we liked this stew, I did make a couple of changes, i doubled the recipes but left the evaporated milk and flour amounts the same, I used chicken thighs and canned mushrooms, and I added the milk and flour in the last 15 minutes of cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersnmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It wasn't creamy and had absolutely no flavor. Don't use flour, use cornstarch. Don't use frozen veggies, you need fresh. The proportions for the herbs (not the salt and pepper) should be for fresh, not dried. If you need/want to use dried herbs, double up and maybe throw in some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Gave this four stars after following some of the comments left by What a Dish! I placed 7 chicken legs (skin removed), carrots, potatoes, celery and red peppers in the crock pot, added approx. 2 - 3 cups chicken broth and cooked until the chicken was done. I pulled chicken out to remove meat from bones. While I was doing that I added frozen peas and corn (no need to thaw before hand) and a drained can of mushrooms. Once the chicken was shredded I replaced that in the crock and added a full can of evaporated milk mixed with the flour. I added poultry seasoning, garlic powder, lot of freshly cracked black pepper and a dash or so of tumeric. I let this cook for about 30 minutes. The final result was a creamy, hearty chicken stew that the family loved. It seems like many people have had problems with this recipe and it was making me afraid to try it. I'm really glad I did because I think the main problem with the original recipe is putting in the evaporated milk too early. With the suggested changes this recipe is certainly going into my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I will not make this recipe again. I took all the advice on the reviews and it was still a waste of everything that went into the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I saw on other's reviews that the sauce didn't really turn out. Somehow I thought this wouldn't happen to me. I followed the directions perfectly, but the milk separated and now it's a big mess. I might try to wash everything and make a sauce and another user suggested, but I still would not recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Printed this recipe months ago and finally tried it today. Wish I had read the reviews before making...Cooked according to directions exactly and the evaporated milk seperated. It was gross! Had to rinse the entire dish and make something else from it. Made a roux with flour, butter, garlic, pepper and chicken bouillon, then added chicken broth, and slowly wisked in milk, then added rinsed veggies & chicken to this to make a soup(google "chicken pot pie soup" for exact recipe). First time trying dairy in the crock pot - will chalk this one up to a learing experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good! I had leftover cooked chicken breast from the night before and it come out perfectly. I added the milk and flour about an hour and a half before we ate. I think I will add a little less flour when I make it next time... it was just a bit too thick for us. Served it with buscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinleigh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
As with all the other reviewers...I found this recipe to be very tasty but the milk separated and made it look look awful. It was very runny as well so I added some flour to try to thicken it. Not sure that I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States