Creamy Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by furusob
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
A wonderfull, easy to follow recipe. I did not have white pepper on hand, so I used black pepper and omitted the Worstershire. (I can't say it, let alone spell it!) Served it on baked salmon and asparagus with wild rice on the side. Creamy, not too tart, and didn't even think about breaking! A great sauce recipe I will be using from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by furusob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Followed recipe exactly. Tasted like lemon egg yolks. My husband said it left a bad taste in his mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Quick and easy but next time I'll cut out a tablespoon of lemon juice as it was too tangy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This recipe has become one of my *old faithfuls*. I cut the lemon down to 3T as well, and I temper my eggs. The recipe halves well, except I reduce the lemon even more, to 1T. As far as consistency, I've never had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannine1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Very easy to make. Didn't have a double boiler, but a metal bowl on top worked fine. Margerine makes a perfect substitute for butter. I would also add less lemon and perhaps more white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Turned out well, but I needed a second person to help me...two hands is not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was a good simple recipe. I substitued some cayenne pepper for the white pepper. Next time I am going to add a little lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was WAY too buttery. To cut it, I used 1/2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce which only helped a little. I will probably look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I cut down the lemon to 3 tbsp as suggested and it was still too much lemon. No other flavor other than lemon and butter. Too salty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY2GWEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Many, many years ago I stayed at the Mccormic Inn in Chicago and room service delivered to me the best Eggs Benedict I have ever eaten. This is not it, but with a tweak & a tweak I'm sure it can be adjusted to duplicate my experience of long ago. Way too much lemon to start, but easy to make. I will tweak and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States