Creamy Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Worked out great! My husband is a chef and doesn't like making this sauce at home because of the effort. He was surprised when I made this recipe and it turned out perfect. He commented that many professional cooks don't get it right the first time. (though usually it's because they have to make such large batches of it). He assisted by adding paprika and tobasco to taste, a typical restaurant practice. I got creative and added dill which made it the perfect sauce for our salmon filets. For just the two of us, I would cut the recipe in half because this made so much sauce. Regrets, leftovers don't keep well because the emulsion separates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Was easier than I expected to be. Had my husband help- he whisked the yolk mixture and I added the melted butter. It started to get too thick, so I added a bit of the hot water from the pot that was waiting for poached eggs. I halved the recipe, but didn't measure the lemon juice, so overall it ended up being too lemony, though still delicious. I definitely plan to use again. Helpful tip: put the sauce in a thermos while you cook the eggs, this will keep it warm and it won't break! (per Alton Brown)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Made Eggs Benedict for my mom this Mother's Day morning! It was my first time ever making hollandaise AND poached eggs, and everything worked wonderful. ONLY MAKE SURE TO CUT DOWN THE LEMON IN THIS RECIPE! I cut the amount in half, and that was good. Also, I don't think it needs quite so much butter - next time I might try using half the amount of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Just a few small tweaks and it's PERFECT.... Use a meyer lemon, and reduce to 2-1/2 Tbsp. Use unsalted butter Reduce salt by half My favorite eggs benedict addict has been ruined for life. He loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
My recipe for Hollandaise sauce is much easier. I've been making it since the late 50's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is a good receipe, but like everyone else, I too cut down the lemon juice. I also only used 3 egg yolks (because that was all I had) and it turned out fine. I followed the receipe and when I was tasting the final product thought "Oh no, this is way too salty!" But, once I served it on the asparagus, it tasted fine. Don't let the taste fool you before serving! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodfanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very easy to make. I like to add an extra dash or two of worst. sauce at the end to give it a little tangier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now, but because I'm only cooking for two, I had to cut it half both times. The Worcestershire came out too fast the first time, and not considering that, I still added salt! You can imagine what a salty mess it was! I was much more successful the second time. Even though I am normally a salt freak, after my last experience I didn't add any the second time around. Sure glad I didn't - it was still salty, but very easy and good. I'll probably make it again, cuz my BF LOVES Eggs Benedict!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
In all fairness I can't rate this recipe because I didn't follow it the prescribed way. I didn't have lemon juice so I substituted by squeezing an orange into the sauce. The change was actually good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I should have paid more attention to the comments about cutting back on the lemon juice. I used unsalted butter, but I think that was a mistake. Needed to add more salt and it just didn't flavor it correctly. As written, it was WAY too lemony. It had a nice texture...going to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States