Creamy Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
WAY TOO MUCH LEMON! Otherwise this would probably have been very good! I will take the advice of one of the other responders and add the lemon juice last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika T. Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is one of our favorites with poached eggs. we do not put worstershire sauce in it and add we add little more fresh lemon juice. It is great. Make sure you stir it over a low heat and do not over cook it or it will curdle the eggs. Stir until just barely thickened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanminded78

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I've never eaten or made a hollandaise sauce before, but it was a recommeded sauce for crabmeat stuffed chicken breast. It was so easy to make, and the flavor was perfect for the chicken. I only used 1/2 cup of butter and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice. I wouldn't have minded a little more lemon flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
too much lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANSNSTEVE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Wonderful sauce. Have always been intimidated by the term Hollandaise Sauce but have always wanted to make Eggs Benedict at home. So when I found this recipe and all the great reviews I went ahead. Did not have lemons so I substituted lime juice. I halved the recipe, used unsalted butter and 1 tablespoon of the lime juice. The result was very good, a little more than a hint of lime. Next time I will make sure I have lemons. I will also add some tarragon- had tarragon flavored hollandaise in my favorite restaurant in NJ and think this recipe will let me duplicate it. Note to all first time hollandaise chefs: Follow the instructions! -low heat, whisk continuously, add butter a little at a time. Your sauce will be silky smooth. Thanks so much for sharing. 2/19/12 Just made this again with lemon juice. Was wonderful! Made eggs benedict with asparagus instead of canadian bacon. The sauce made the dish. Guests enjoyed it. Again, thanks for the great recipe. Note: Never make it with lime juice. If you don't have lemons, don't make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Quite nice! Should've listened to the other reviewers and cut down on the lemon juice. Next time I'll probably use half. It does go directly to my recipe box, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Like the other reviewers, I wholeheartedly recommend reducing by half the lemon juice in this recipe. This sauce seems to have far too much butter for my tastes, as well. I'll try with half the butter on a next try. As I emulsified the sauce, I tasted it after adding half the butter. The flavor and texture were just fine, I should have stopped then. Despite my problems with the proportions of lemon and butter, the techniques explained in the recipe are near foolproof. The texture of the sauce is perfect; velvety and rich. Even a beginning cook could nail this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlchow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a very good hollandaise recipe. I doubled the recipe and only used 2 TBsp of fresh lemon juice and 1 cup of salted butter. I did not add salt. It had excellent flavor and consistency. I will be using this again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Daugherty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I'm giving this 5 stars because it is EASY and so good! I used salted butter and found it a tad too salty (didn't add the salt the recipe called for). Next time I will use unsalted and salt to taste. A halved recipe easily serves 4 over salmon fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDROYAI

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very easy to make and quite good. I did use a little less lemon juice, but other than that followed the recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States