Creamy Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This Hollandaise Sauce was really easy to make. I think there was too much lemon juice. It was way too tangy for my liking, but it was still really good. I made artichokes to dip into the sauce, while my husband smoked some TBones! The steaks were also really good when you dipped them into the Hollandaise Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Try and try again... I was finally able to make this, and it came out very well. At first, I mixed only egg and lemon, and added the water after a minute or so. Once it began to thicken, in went the unsalted butter. I used cold butter, cut into small pieces, and only used half of what was called for. The cold butter seemed to temper the mixture better. The only seasoning I added was a pinch of cayenne. I held off from adding all seasoning til the very end, as I've read that salt, etc. can interfere with the emulsion process. All in all, it was delicious over steamed broccoli. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I tired this making it exactly and I don't understand why people think it's a hollandaise sauce... I think the 3 tablespoons was a typo and needs to be teaspoons. The second time I made it (the first batch was garbage), I cut the butter in half and uses about 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon juice and it was perfect. Thank you for teaching me the basics of how to make the sauce but the lemon was way, way, way too much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marissajoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loma Rica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
WAY TOO MUCH LEMON! I would venture a guess that slightly less than half is a better amount of lemon. We ended up adding substantially more worcestershire and white pepper to try to cover up the taste (out of eggs at this point).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
So quick and easy to do! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I haven't had good luck with pre-melted butter recipes in the past. So, I added all ingredients for step one into a small sauce pot over low heat and then added cubed cold butter a couple of cubes at the time and whisked continuously until it was all melted and the sauce tightened up. Then added a dash of cayenne pepper for a kick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONANGEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Owens Cross Roads, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Lovely and simple. I kept out the salt and pepper, just because I wanted to try it with the taste of only the three key ingredients. I've always heard how hard it is to make, but it just takes constant stirring and a gently simmering pot of water on the double boiler and it's SO quick and easy. I even used a hand reamer to get my lemon juice freshly and directly into the saucepan, leaving in any pulp that happened to fall in and it was still creamy and perfect. Final thing, I just moved and lost my whisk on the way. Instead I used chopsticks to stir and it worked perfectly (Japanese wooden chopsticks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thirroul, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Well, I read some of the reviews that mentioned that this receipe is too " lemony", but I decided that based on all the wonderful 5/5 reviews, it shouldn't be too bad. Boy was I wrong. The sauce is sooo lemony, that you almost feel like you are eating a lemon tart on top of you english muffin. Horrible. This sauce would be better on top of a lemon-dill cod, or a sweet maple-syrup salmon, than eggs benedict. I used real lemon juice, and 3.5 tablespoons was too much. I saved the receipe by adding brown sugar, mayo, and more worcestershire sauce. Reccomendation: use 1.5 tablespoons of lemon juice , unless you absolutely love the taste of tangy creamy lemon on your eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
this is sin in a bowl! so rich and creamy and heavenly.... wow! it was SO simple and tasted incredible on my baked chicken! only downer was that it hardened into a solid block when i tried to refrigerate it so i couldn't have the rest of it! oh well. i'll just have to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdeabs33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Fool-proof and very forgiving. I didn't really measure ingredients--I only used 1-1/2 sticks of butter so I wouldn't have to open another package, I used about 1-3/4 tablespoons of lemon juice, few squirts of Worcheshire, 3 egg yolks, pinch of salt and pepper. Easy and delicious, Julia Child would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States