Creamy Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was excellent. A lot easier than I expected. I didn't have lemon in the house so I tried it with a lime. I will try lemon next time as the lime left something to be desired. I would also half this recipe next time. It made a lot of sauce. Half would have been perfect for 2 people with 2 eggs each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Crawford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was excellent! A lot easier to whip up than I was expecting. I don't have a true double boiler, but I just used a metal mixing bowl over my stock pot with about an inch of water simmering below. As suggested, I started whisking the eggs and seasonings before placing over heat, then slowly added the butter. Definitely didn't take 15 minutes to thicken up. I halved the recipe as I was only serving 2, but as recommended I did use less lemon juice than it asked for. Was just the right lemony-ness. Quick note: This cools off and tightens up VERY fast so I recommend serving immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Who could eat the powder mixes? It is worth trying this recipe. I still use the cold butter method sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
A nice hollandaise recipe that doesn't take too long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was simple to make and tasted pretty good, too! I'm not a fan of Hollandaise sauce but my husband loves it on eggs benedict. Normally I buy the sauce mix packets, but not anymore. I like this sauce and will be making it from now on for our Sunday morning brunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Delicious - and really easy. I put the yolk mixture in my double boiler before it got hot like other reviews said and it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Turned out very nice. So easy! I would say a little on the lemony side (I love lemon and it was still a tad much for me) however...I used bottled lemon juice. If I had used fresh it might not have been as strong. I would say 3T with fresh and 2T with bottled would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
had too much lemon for my taste but that's an easy fix for next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
First off I have to address the people who are saying they have a quicker way to do this. IE. Via putting everything in a blender. Please for the love of god do not do this. The point of the double boiler is to slowly cook the egg yolks so you do not get salmonella poisoning. Yes it is a bit more work, but please do not risk getting sick for doing more easily. That being said, this is a great recipe. Please remember the Hollandaise Sauce is supposed to be lemony. That is the kind of sauce it is. If you want a butter sauce, try going the mornay sauce route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I used only about 2 Tbsp of lemon juice based on other reviews and thought it had a nice flavor. I would hold on adding the water until you have it all together and whisked because I thought it could have been a little thicker and wished I hadn't put the water in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States