Creamy Garlic Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really good! I followed the recipe exactly, down to the MSG. I think I would probably prefer this with fresh garlic, but it was als fine with powder. Loved the little pop of the mustard seed - would probably add a few more next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Fantastic recipe!! Like others have recommended, I used fresh minced garlic (2 cloves) instead of garlic powder, used 1 tsp of each lemon juice, vinegar and oil, and used 1 1/2 cups of sour cream with 1/2 cup of buttermilk (that I made myself with milk and vinegar). We only use this dressing when we have ceasar salad now....we never used store bought anymore. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Super easy and very tasty! My husband was a huge fan of it over salad and especially as a dipping sauce for veggie sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Okay...too much work and I had to keep tweaking it to taste good...will not make again, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
We loved this recipe, but make it without the MSG and mustard seed. Goes great with any salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This has an amazing taste. One that would definitely "show up" in a salad. Not too much of any one flavor. Made it for a family lunch and it was a HUGE hit. I may try adding some parmesan or romano cheese, just a little. This is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
After reading the reviews I was skeptical whether I would like this or not. I did like it. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I decided to add 2 cloves of chopped garlic instead of powder for flavour. The end result was a very bitter dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Léah Fugère

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I made this last night and it was BLAND! I followed the recipe pretty much as written. I didn't have steak sauce so I just added some salt to taste, and I added Grey Poupon mustard instead of mustard seed. I followed other reviewer's suggestions to at least do a full teaspoon of the lemon, oil, and vinegar. I did 1 1/2 cups of sour cream and 1/2 buttermilk to start, for more flavor. And I subbed a clove of fresh crushed garlic for the garlic powder. And it was still totally bland for my tastes. Only after some more doctoring did I arrive at something yummy. I added more buttermilk, another clove of fresh crushed garlic, and several tablespoons of fresh chopped herbs from my garden (oregano, parsley, thyme, and basil). I also added some dried onion flakes. After all that, the dressing turned out really good. My 2-year old son enjoyed dipping steamed green beans into it. The recipe as it is written, I'd say is a decent dip or salad dressing *base*, but I don't think it has nearly enough flavor to stand on its own as a dressing. Because I had to doctor it up (beyond the recipe) to make it really good, I'm only giving it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Yummy!!!! of course I love garlic tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States