Creamy Garlic Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
With a few modifications, I thought this was super. To cut back on the fat, I used low fat whipped cottage cheese in lieu of the sour cream. I added a ton more garlic powder (but that's just me), onion powder, dry mustard and a quarter cup of vinegar. No MSG passes my lips so I happily left that out. So delicious Maureen and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
I rated this 4 stars after the following changes: 1 cup (not 2) of sour cream 1 full teaspoon of the vinegar, oil, and lemon juice 2 cloves fresh pressed garlic instead of powder We used this as both a veggie dip and salad topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
If you love garlic and love creamy dressings as much as we do, you can't help but love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
I just made it and I thought that this dressing is delicious I had to sub the gpowder for reall garlic and mustard seed for dry mustard! It is so good w/ a little salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This is excellent! I had some fresh leeks so I minced up a little and added it. I also added a LOT more garlic and onion. I followed the other reviewer and added 1/4 c. vinegar, WAAAAY to sour!! I had to add a 1/4 t. of brown sugar to neutralize some of the sour, (you don't taste the brown sugar). I would suggest starting out with 1 T. vinegar and go from there. The longer it sets in the frig. the more delicious it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I made this last night and it was BLAND! I followed the recipe pretty much as written. I didn't have steak sauce so I just added some salt to taste, and I added Grey Poupon mustard instead of mustard seed. I followed other reviewer's suggestions to at least do a full teaspoon of the lemon, oil, and vinegar. I did 1 1/2 cups of sour cream and 1/2 buttermilk to start, for more flavor. And I subbed a clove of fresh crushed garlic for the garlic powder. And it was still totally bland for my tastes. Only after some more doctoring did I arrive at something yummy. I added more buttermilk, another clove of fresh crushed garlic, and several tablespoons of fresh chopped herbs from my garden (oregano, parsley, thyme, and basil). I also added some dried onion flakes. After all that, the dressing turned out really good. My 2-year old son enjoyed dipping steamed green beans into it. The recipe as it is written, I'd say is a decent dip or salad dressing *base*, but I don't think it has nearly enough flavor to stand on its own as a dressing. Because I had to doctor it up (beyond the recipe) to make it really good, I'm only giving it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Great flavor! Was a crowd pleaser with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This was a good dressing/dip. I did add some milk to thin it out otherwise it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Yummy!!!! of course I love garlic tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States