Creamy Fruit Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very good, but need less cream than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IT Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made this for thanksgiving and my family loved it so they requested it again for Christmas! The first time I made it I used all of the juice from one can of fruit cocktail and it was pretty runny so the next time I added it in until it was the right consistency. Will definitely be a family favorite for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is great if and only if you like soup like fruit salad...because it literally had the consistency of soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I read the reviews before making this, so I left out the syrup from the fruit cocktail. The consistency was still a bit runny, but it was just way too rich!! I'm going to throw the whole bowl away because no one in my family liked it. I think that the cream cheese and condensed milk mixture would make a tasty fruit dip, but just over powers for a fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I have to admit, I made several changes to this recipe. First, I used only one 8oz. block of cream cheese and 1/2 can sweetened cond. milk. I added the juice of one whole lime and about 1/4 cup of honey. This made about a cup and a half of sauce. I used only fresh fruits: 3 peaches, 3 nectarines, 2 cups grapes and 3 bananas. I think some berries would have been really good too in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Very tasty! I used 8oz whipped cream cheese with about 1/2 can of cond. milk. Fresh pineapple, apple, mandarin oranges, fresh strawberries & grapes. I saved some of it to use as a fruit dip. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
WOW - This was a HUGE hit! So simple to make and it's always the first dish gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I've made this fruit salad many times... it's quick, easy, and tasty. The first time I made this I used 2 packages cream cheese and one entire can of condensed milk... it lacked the right amount of sweetnesss, so I added another 1/2 can. Since the, I use only 1 package cream cheese, 1 can condensed milk, and about 1/2 cup of the reserved liquid from the fruit coctail. Just the right amount of sweetness! Not too thick and not too runny. I don't use bananas. Haven't used any additional maraschino cherries, but would recommend adding a can of mandarin oranges (drained) and about 2/3 cup shredded coconut. Typically, I use a bulk sized can of fruit coctail (buy at Costco or Smart&Final - you get more for your buck), so I make a lot at once and frigerate the leftovers for dessert the next day or two. Delicious. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was a great last minute dish to prepare with items already in my pantry. It was very runny, but I just drained out some of the liquid. Great taste, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was ok. my mother makes something similar just can cocktail and consensed milk. It taste the same and easier. This recipe calls for too much and is really really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Praire Ronde, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States