Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
This frosting tastes good, but takes some time to make. You have to allow enough time for the milk and flour mixture to cool. It definitely looks fluffy, but it also glistened and looked as though it were melting. Neat if you want something to look like snow or you can't refrigerate a whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
It was good but i would not say it was the best. It is one of the better frosting recipes I have tried but the texture is not as good as the store bought kind. The flavor is better than packaged frosting but the texture is not as good if you are looking for a frosting to truly decorate a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I had a hard time getting the right consistency and had to add a bunch of flour but overall this was a great recipe. I added pureed strawberries to make a strawberry whipped topping. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
IT WAS NICE. MY 8 YEAR OLD DID MOST OF THE WORK AND IT WAS FUN AND TASTED GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
Love this frosting!!! It was WONDERFUL. Complements instead of covering up the cake taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
WONDERFUL!!! Very easy to make, and took almost no time at all (except waiting for milk mixture to cool) I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
This is a great recipe. I was looking throw the recipes for something light and this was defintly it. It tast kinda like tabbyoka and wipe cream mix. I really Loved It Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I didn't have enough butter to make this recipe, so I substituted half with butter flavored shortening. It still turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe for a long time.I thought I would never find it again after all of my old recipes were lost.It was an old family favorite.I love this site for it has given me back several recipes that were lost but not forgotten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
At first I was kinda shaky about it, but once I made it, it really did look like whipped cream. And my grandmother, who's always looking for a good frosting recipe, LOVED it. Used it to frost a red velvet cake...complimented it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States