Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
i was looking for a frosting that didnt have powdered sugar in it and came across this one...OMG! This is absolutely wonderful....for those of you whose didnt turn out...FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!!! I did use tub margarine and a hand mixer....turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I used this recipe for the first time and I'd say the icing was sweet but I didn't get mine to look like Carol's frosting. My frosting still had sugar in it but it was really light and easy to spread. If my mom had a blender then this would probably would've been much nicer. The first part was interesting to make the thick mixture. Mine didn't burn thanks be to God, and it was sticky like melted marshmallows. I think what went wrong was I had sugar that could've been added to the butter and vanilla mixture but I didn't use it all and forgot I had it until after adding the milk and flour mixture which caused it to be a bit crunchy. I really wish that I'd whipped it more, which would've been a lot. More tiresome but also worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
No I didn't change anything! If I did I wouldn't be writing a review for this recipe! Perfect frosting first time, if not then you screwed up, not the recipe. Give yourself 2 stars. One thing that hung me up was the white sugar. I was concerned that without powdered sugar it would be grainy, but I used granulated sugar anyway, and it turned out perfect. I doubled the recipe and piped 36 cupcakes with none leftover. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
No need for powdered again! I tried this after I ran out of icing sugar. I mixed by hand for a smooth, silky white, and delicious icing. I do prefer a firmer glaze, and placing the frosted cakes in the fridge helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I thought this was great! I made sure I really took my time with each step, especially the flour and milk to get a nice smooth creamy thick base. I actually used 1% milk and it turned out fine. I came across this recipe because I made a cake and then realized I was out of confectioners sugar. I may just use this instead next time, lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe and thought it was fairly simple to understand and work with. can't wait to see how I can add different flavors to it for some of my themed cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daizygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brodhead, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this recipe today. Great results! You do have to mix the butter/sugar with the milk/flour for about 10 minutes on high. Well worth the wait. I substituted lemon zest and juice for vanilla. Just what I was looking for with no powdered sugar in the cupboard. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
So easy! Nice, smooth texture. I live overseas and it is hard to get ingredients because there are shortages. This is the first time I've made icing without powdered sugar. I added cocoa powder and coffee extract to go with the cake I was making. I just added extra milk to offset the extra dryness. Don't over-cook the milk/flour or it can leave lumps. (Though after I frosted the cake and let it sit for a bit, I no longer saw lumps.) Thanks!!! (BTW, prefer the vanilla version but the chocolate went with my cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
No tips or tricks needed - frosting was great even with fat free milk. My only complaint is that it really wasn't enough for a two layer cake as stated, so I made a filling for the cake to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Looked like frosting but didn't taste much like frosting. The texture looked nice and fluffy, but it just tasted like eating whipped butter and was greasy in my mouth. Followed the instructions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States