Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
SO DELICIOUS. I absolutely hate 'American buttercream' made with icing sugar that crusts, and this was a great alternative. I followed one commenters advice and used 1/4 cup flour, also added the sugar in with the milk & flour mixture to melt it. I chilled the flour/sugar/milk mixture until it was cold, then when I added it to the whipped butter, it appeared to curdle. The mixture was too cold, which made the butter harden and form lumps. I wrapped a wet, warm towel around the stand mixer bowl which brought the mixture up to temperature, causing the butter to slightly melt into it and form an awesomely smooth icing. It was not overly sweet, I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
The only thing I can't do is add colour in to it any suggestion? please and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I love this website, you can type in ingredients that you DON'T have and find a recipe. I was out of powdered sugar and eggs, so that nixed a lot of frosting recipes for me. This frosting was great just make sure everything is cold before you whip it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I wanted to my mum some cupcakes yesterday evening, but realised I was all out of icing sugar and as it was after 4, shops was closed. so I found this recipe. I was a bit unsure at first but I decided to go for it. for all of you saying this recipe didn't work, you are obviously doing something wrong because I loved it. I used granuled sugar and 1% milk but it didn't affect the taste at all. I even added cocoa powder to make it chocolate and that working. It was just like whipped cream, soft and delicious. like heaven on a chocolate cupcake! my mum loved them. this had def been added to my recipe book. thankyou for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Needed some homemade frosting for a box-mix cake and found this. Easy to make and tastes great. I had no problem frosting a two layer yellow cake with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Easy to make just added some vanilla pudding mix and it taste like French Vanilla Icing will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Loved this recipe...only gets 4 stars because I wish one batch made more. It is so light and airy with just a hint of sweet. I actually added almond extract with 1/2 a tsp of vanilla...yummo!For beginner bakers here's a hint or two: 1) cool the milk and flour completely 2) cream the butter and sugar until smooth and fluffy-this means you will have to scrape your mixer several times. Perf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I didn't like this recipe. I'm a huge review reader. i read several reviews and decided to try this frosting. I won't be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doxielvr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This frosting in a nutshell is...meh. I followed Justme's directions and the consistency was decent. You do need to be patient and having a kitchen aid mixer was definitely helpful. I covered a 2 layer cake and I had a hard time making it look good because the consistency wasn't working well. I can see why some people said this works better if you pipe it on cupcakes. The cake would've looked much better if I piped stars (or the like) all around it. As for taste, it's very butter-tasting. I even added some more milk and powdered sugar, but that didn't change it. I decided to use this because my family doesn't like sugary frosting and this recipe is definitely NOT super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Light, fluffy, creamy and dreamy. Topped my pumpkin cake with this and it was perfect. A+. This is my new go to frosting, screw store bought canned stuff. I will never buy canned frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bevins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States