Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Looked like frosting but didn't taste much like frosting. The texture looked nice and fluffy, but it just tasted like eating whipped butter and was greasy in my mouth. Followed the instructions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I liked this, but I honestly made a lot of changes to it. After reading reviews I adjusted a few things: 1/2C butter and 1/2C cream cheese (or neufchatel) instead of 1C butter. 2/3C 2% milk with 1/3C half and half. Constant stirring while thickening milk-flour mixture, then cooled in the fridge for 30 min. Mix the milk-flour into the whipped butter mixture, half the total amount at a time, beating for several minutes each time. I added 1/3C cocoa powder to make mine a chocolate cream frosting. I also doubled the vanilla extract. This is not thick like the picture, but it is creamy, and not at all soupy as some reviewers had issues with. It stood up nicely on my cupcakes, but it should be refrigerated for best results (especially since I used cream cheese). Overall, I would use this again in a pinch, but I will not be my go-to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
i made it today n it turn out really ausome , i must suggest to those who hv flour flavour in it , you have to cook milk n flour on very slow heat so that you can cook the flour n i cconstantly keep stirring n taste it until i donot taste the flour :) so cool it down completely n i infact use salted butter but still the taste is veryyy good ,btw i add i table spoon of cornflour as well but i think it will be as good with only corn flour as well bcz it just like the vanilla custard you make for some recepies. so will again try obviously n for those who taste flour keep stirring n very slow heat n cook till you dnt taste flour :) happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, and came out great. I did have a stand mixer. Used this on cookies for Valentine's, and it worked well, although it's obviously not a normal cookie frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
First time for me, it turned out GREAT !! I followed the directions and have no complaints. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puddens Husband

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
After throwing together a box cake for a Valentine's day treat, i realized I'm out of powdered sugar! Ugh! Holy moly am I glad I did! This icing is fantastic. (I guess I should mention I'm a pastry graduate with lots of love for frostings!) I followed this recipe to a T with the help of the first review. I will say at first it was very grainy and I was worried, but just let her rip on the mixer and it's fluffy and perfect. I cooled the milk mixture till cool to the touch, used all butter that I softened in the microwave (hey we all use shortcuts!) and whipped the daylights out of it. Give it a go, it's def delish. Fluffy, sweet, melts quickly, no filmy residue in your mouth and is snow white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlebird87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Belcamp, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I love this recipe and have a tip for people in case it's just not coming together after whipping it forever, as happened to me (my fault, I added cocoa powder to create a chocolate version). While you're whipping it, you can add flour, a tablespoon at a time, until it comes together. Doing this saved my batch of frosting. It came out delicious and fluffy, and the 1/4 cup of cocoa and tsp of almond extract instead of vanilla was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
SO DELICIOUS. I absolutely hate 'American buttercream' made with icing sugar that crusts, and this was a great alternative. I followed one commenters advice and used 1/4 cup flour, also added the sugar in with the milk & flour mixture to melt it. I chilled the flour/sugar/milk mixture until it was cold, then when I added it to the whipped butter, it appeared to curdle. The mixture was too cold, which made the butter harden and form lumps. I wrapped a wet, warm towel around the stand mixer bowl which brought the mixture up to temperature, causing the butter to slightly melt into it and form an awesomely smooth icing. It was not overly sweet, I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
The only thing I can't do is add colour in to it any suggestion? please and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I love this website, you can type in ingredients that you DON'T have and find a recipe. I was out of powdered sugar and eggs, so that nixed a lot of frosting recipes for me. This frosting was great just make sure everything is cold before you whip it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States