Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
thank you to those who posted those tips. they are greatly helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Way too much butter!! I also didn't like the consistency and it was very sweet. I followed everything perfectly, but it just didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Substitute coconut extract for vanilla and this is the perfect coconut cake frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I did not like this recipe at all. It tasted like flour with milk instead of frosting. I was really upset since it took me forever to try and blend it and it never came together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Almodovar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I followed this exactly and it was so greasy and runny it was unusable. I tried to salvage it by adding powdered sugar but to no avail. Will definitely NOT be using this, or any variation of, this recipe again. Going to stick with a traditional buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This frosting is sooo good. Mine came out perfect and i didn't have a problem with the milk or anything. You have to take your time with each step its called patience. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I expected it to be good. In reality, it tasted like a stick of butter with sugar in it. Disgusting. It definitely was not worth all the time it took, with boiling the milk and beating forever to get the sugar crystals out. This is the first negative review I've given a recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
It takes some time but really worth it and wayyyy better than any can frosting out there. I was in a pinch i never made frosting from scratch but i didnt have any cans of frosting and i wanted to make cupcakes for my hunny for valentines day. Unless im pressed for time i will never use canned frosting again, i love this recip, its soooo good. Also i added a few tablespoons of french vanilla instand pudding mix into the frosting and yumm! Thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I first made it on a horribly hot, humid day and didn't cream the butter and sugar together until the crystals were very small. I ended up beating it for over 1/2 an hour! (My mixer at the time was a wimp.) Since then I have learned to cook the milk and flour until it is stiff, make sure the butter is room temperature and cream it with the sugar for a good while, then add the paste. If I do all this, it mixes quickly, even in the humid Mississippi summers! This is our favorite recipe, so good you want to eat it plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Tastes like I frosted my cake with a stick of butter...not my taste in frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States