Creamy French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I was out of French dressing and needed it for the "Special Hamburger Sauce" recipe on this site. This French dressing recipe was perfect! For best flavor, it needs to sit in the fridge for several hours or overnight. Very easy to make with ingredients readily onhand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The first time I followed the recipe exactly and it was very good. Tonite I used terragon vinegar, pineapple juice (instead of water) and no lemon juice because that's what I had on hand. This is a very nice twist on french dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Ok but that's it. I also made the French Salad Dressing (by Jane Barta) the same meal and we all loved that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Luthman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I thought this was tasty! I scaled the recipe down to make just enough for the 'Special Hamburger Sauce' recipe from here for our burgers tonight. I thought it had good flavor and it really got me out of a bind today. I think this had a very similar taste to bottled creamy french dressing, and would not hesitate to use this recipe in the future! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was so easy to make and a nice change of pace. Made exactly according to the recipe, except halved everything. Unlike some other reviewers, I did not find it too vinegary at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was excellent! It was a bit vinegary this first day, but was superb as it aged. Will definitely make this again. Also a good base for thousand island
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I followed this recipe and it tastes WAY too much like cider vinegar. I added a bit more ketchup, 1/2 C more mayo and some garlic and onion powder and it still only tastes like vinegar. I am going to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I just made this and it is excellent! I also used balsamic vinegar (because I was out of cider vinegar) and love the flavor. Just be prepared for the color change if you do this! This is a new favorite. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
A very easy to make and tasty salad dressing. I took the advice of harperfamiy and used 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar for the cider vinegar. I found the resulting dressing a bit thick (some would be due to less vinegar), so I added 3 additional tbsp of water. Keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Very good. I make a large amount at one time and it keeps for a long time in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam R-H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Karen, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States