Creamy Dreamy Chicken and Spirals Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
My older daughter called this "the best macaroni & cheese ever!" I made it pretty much as written, though I do think I would add more pasta next time around. It seemed a bit light with just a smidge over 2 cups. I think I probably did throw in more chicken and cheese than called for. We didn't find the mustard or wine overpowering at all - but then I usually do add mustard powder when I make a cheese sauce, so they're used to the taste. Will be making this again, especially when I have cooked chicken to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
So good but so heavy! Good for a cold winter meal. I didn't have cream cheese or butter crackers, so I subbed sour cream and cheese-its. Will make again but will try and make a healthier version. Hard to enjoy knowing how much fat is in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
We loved it. I did use the measurements as stated above however I did heat the first few ingredients and then turn down the heat to add the cheese, mustard, and wine. It seem to be just enough to cook off the wine taste a few disliked. We also just added our veggie to it and baked it just to make it a one bowl meal. We will be adding to the menu more often. It is really rich and cheesy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It's kind of a bland meal. Really tastes like dull mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kruse
Home Town: Herman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My children loved, however I would use less mustard the next time..a little strong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I tried to stay true to the recipe but sub what I had on hand to keep the food budget down. I browned raw cubed chicken breast in a little evoo/butter before proceeding with the recipe. I didn't use as much butter/flour as called for, just a teaspoon of each that I cooked to a light brown before adding the milk, cream cheese, milk and wine. The cream cheese I used was Philadelphia's cooking cream, which made it SO much easier to work with. I used French's chardonnay dijon mustard, omitted the extra salt and I added a teaspoon each of garlic and onion powder and couple good shakes of Frank's Hot Sauce. The cheddar cheese I used was extra sharp. The flavor of this casserole was out of this world BUT our issue with it was it was REALLY thick. REALLY thick. And kind of gummy. I think this would be excellent if it had a little more milk, maybe about a half cup or so. Then it might be perfect. My kids absolutely loved it, thickness aside. I'll make this again. I served steamed broccoli on the side but next time, I might just stir it in. I think it would be a great all-in-one casserole dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I thought this was really good, but it takes more than 30 minutes "Prep Time" to make. Slight changes I made: I only used half the cream cheese as I felt guilty using that much. Didn't bother with the wine or the nutmeg. I added a little brocolli, too. I think the amount of cracker topping is a little on the skimpy side, so I added more crackers. Very cheesy and a very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
My family liked this. I too skipped the wine and used chicken broth instead. I would recommend a scant tablespoon of mustard...the taste was too strong for me. I also doubled the pasta and chicken. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Just made this recipe I switched it up a bit but it was really good. I did not add the wine, mustard or nutmeg and I used 12 oz of cream cheese instead of 8. I also sauteed the chicken in some onions and garlic and added in some frozen veggies. Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was not for our family. I made the recipe exactly as stated. There was way too much sauce for the amount of chicken and rotini. The sauce was way too pasty. 3 cups of cheddar cheese seemed like an awful lot but I added it and it really does not need that much cheddar. Needless to say my family did not eat this and it all went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States